The Florida Project - Film Review

in #film6 years ago

From the director of Tangerine comes a new film about a different group of equally awful human beings! The Florida Project follows Halley, a scumbag white trash mother, and Moonee, her feral six-year-old daughter, as they struggle to make ends meet and stay out of trouble living in a motel run by Willem Dafoe. Moonee runs around the area causing havoc with her friends Scooty and Jancey, and Halley acts like the dirty white trash piece of shit she is while giving everyone around her a fucking headache and forcing them to deal with her bullshit!

The Florida Project is an undeniably well made film, much like Tangerine visually it has a very bright and colourful look while depicting an ugly part of a supposedly beautiful place, the title itself is taken from the working title of what became Disney World which is only an hour or so away from where their motel is. It's a film about disgusting people and their doomed children, it's very realistic, very uncomfortable and I didn't enjoy it at all, I enjoyed it more than Tangerine I suppose but like I said in my review of that, I'm just not their target audience and I feel the same here.

I hate these characters, I despise them and I hate having to watch them for almost two hours, I'm not invested in them, I don't care about them, I don't sympathise with them, I have no interest watching them exist, as I said in my Tangerine review, it's like watching a box of rats, and I don't care about the rats. I didn't like the kids either just to clarify and I know they're children and I usually love films about kids going on a little adventure but I would have happily watched all these kids get hit by napalm, them, their parents and everyone in the motel, fuck it!

The performances were great, the woman who played Hallee was great, she captures white trash like no one else ever has, it was a brilliant performance and I didn't enjoy it at all. All of the kids were great as well, they all did a great job and Sean Baker did a great job directing them, they were natural and authentic, I hate them all. Willem Dafoe was good, he's one of the only decent human beings in this story and Macon Blair from Blue Ruin turns up as well! The performances were great and it's well written and well directed but I just didn't enjoy it at all.

I hate these characters and I hate the way they sound, sonically again much like Tangerine it's just cunts making a lot of noise and being cunts, I don't care about these characters, I'm not rooting for them in any way, I don't care about their motives and I don't care about their pain or their struggles, Hallee's a piece of shit and there's nothing redeeming about her at all, there's nothing likeable about any of these kids either and the attempt to make me care towards the end failed! I'm gonna give The Florida Project 6.9/10, I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

What did you think of The Florida Project?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60870.66
ETH 2917.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62