30 Day Movie Challenge - #16 - What is the last film you saw in cinemas?

in #film6 years ago (edited)

Day 16 - What is the last film you saw in cinemas?

Answer: Deadpool (2016) & Deadpool 2 (2018)

I didn't see just one movie the last time I went to the theater. Nope. I saw TWO movies. I was lucky enough to get tickets for the whole double feature event thing for the new Deadpool 2 movie. So, I guess this will both serve as my answer for this challenge and a sort of mini-review for the second movie. My original answer for this challenge was going to be the independent film Tully, but I got a surprise from my wife that we had tickets to see Deadpool and Deadpool 2 yesterday. So, that changed some things. Here we go.

Deadpool doesn't have an overly complicated plot. Boy meets girl. Boy falls in love with girl. Boy gets cancer. Boy leaves girl to try an experimental treatment that will cure his cancer, but also potentially give him some new abilities. Boy gets tricked. Boy tries to get revenge on the guy who tortured him during the experimental treatment. Guy kidnaps girl. Boy goes on a rampage to get girl back. Nothing too complex. No big world threatening problem that Deadpool needs to take care of.

Deadpool 2 ups the ante a little bit by introducing the character of Cable who has time traveled to the present to take care of a mutant kid before something terrible happens in the future. Deadpool ends up assembling his own super-duper group he calls the X-Force to try to stop Cable from killing the kid. Yes. It's got that Terminator vibe if we are making compari-, I mean, references. I won't spoil anything about the plot that wasn't already introduced in the trailer here. I don't want to ruin any fun surprises for those who haven't seen the film yet.

Alrighty then. What did I think of those films?

Deadpool is a lot of fun. The plot is smaller scale. It's not some big laser in the sky where Deadpool needs to stop a villain before they destroy the world or the city. It's a simple revenge tale. We get a revision of the character. That abomination of the character we saw in X-Men Origins: Wolverine has been wiped away from the canon. Ryan Reynolds completely owns the character and it's a fun ride for anyone who likes the character. It's a R-Rated film. So, don't let the kids watch it. There's some serious sex and violence here. That's pretty much the standard for Deadpool.

Deadpool 2 is a lot of fun too. I don't know if I would consider it better than the first film. Some parts are better, but some parts kind of made me scratch my head at why they did some things. Introducing Cable and Domino kind of fits perfectly for a sequel that focuses on Deadpool. The characters have history in the comic books, so it was natural that we'd see the characters show up. I don't know much about them myself, but I really enjoyed Josh Brolin and Zazie Beetz in the roles. There are plenty of references and sight gags to pay attention to. There's another surprise character that shows up in the movie, but I won't spoil anything. Just know it's kind of awesome seeing them show up. I'd recommend checking it out if you're a fan of the character.

Sort:  

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65852.33
ETH 2958.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73