You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Michael's Action Lase-O-Rama: Last Action Hero (1994, Columbia Tri-Star)

in #film6 years ago

It just keeps getting better the older I get.

Trailers for the film were cut at the last minute, and failed to give an accurate portrayal of what the movie was actually about, marketing it as the ultimate over-the-top action spectacle when it was really anything but

I was hoping you'd mention that. I remember being very dissapointed by the movie I saw vs the one the trailers promised (then I got a little older and 'got' the movie.)

Sort:  

Really sitting down and looking at films like Last Action Hero makes me wonder how many other "awful" films I've seen in my life that were made that way due to unrealistic expectations instead of ineptitude on the part of the film makers, the producers, or the marketing department. I think Lady in the Water suffered from much the same problem:

I LOVE Lady in the Water. It's my favorite Shyamalan film. But watch that trailer and compare it to the actual film. The comments left by others on this trailer tell the whole story:

  • "They tried to market it as a horror film when it was actually a fantasy film."

  • "What if Lady in the Water was a Horror Movie?"

  • "A GREAT film that I really enjoyed but Christ the trailer was misleading!"

How many other people hated this movie because they went to it expecting to be scared thanks to a trailer that looks like it could have been cut for an installment of The Conjuring? It's just sad. :(

@modernzorker I haven't liked Shyamalan since a bad experience with The Village and have avoided everything since. I might give LiW a try since you suggest it.

On the flip side, there's a wonderful internet community out there making purposefully inappropriate trailers. In case you don't know, watch Must Love Jaws

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62584.99
ETH 3171.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81