Decentralised movie making for creative like-minded people - Animation + VFX - Artella.com

in #film7 years ago (edited)

Are you an animator who wants to create his own animation-short? Are you an aspiring film-maker who needs help with his VFX shots? Or are you an artist who just wants to work on some cool projects on the side in his free time?

Well then Artella.com is the place for you!

Artella.com offers the possibility to work with talented people from all around the world on a project, using the Artella platform as a hub for communication and file sharing. The concept behind this platform is that people with ideas for a movie/Animation/game/VR/ project can find artists to bring these ideas to life.

Usually the work on Artella is not payed for, since almost all the projects are non-profit/students or passion projects. Generally I do not support the "work for free "mentality , and you really should never work for free, but if you want to spend your time with doing some private projects and learn new things and connect with people, there is nothing wrong about it.

A lot of students and junior artist use this opportunity to get some good show-reel material. But there are also a lot of industry professionals like my self, who work on these projects just for fun. From 2D artists to 3D artists, everybody can find something interesting to develop on Artella.

This does not mean that you can not start a project on Artella where you intend to pay people for their work. It is really up to you and to those who sign up for the project. And who knows how Artella evolves in the next couple of years.

My Artella experience


I signed up on Artella ages ago when nothing much was happening on it. I did upload my reel and had some basic information in my profile, and then I completely forgot about it. Until one day Tim Rudder, who was the director on the animation short "Duel", asked me if I had time and if I would be interested to help out on the project in the final phase, to get it over the finish line.

I had a look at the art-work and the animatic. I really liked the concept, so I signed up and helped out to do some compositing-look-dev and to finalise a few shots. The project was almost done when I joined, I think in total I worked 4-5 weeks on it.

(Concept art by Tobi Trebeljahr)

The animation-short was for the CTN-Animation-Expo 2016. There was not much room to move the deadline and everybody invested as much time as possible to get it done. We used Artella + Slack for communication, and files where shared via Artella directly or Dropbox/Google hard-drive.

We had a total of more or less 60 artist (in the first articles that came out they stated the wrong number of 46 artists) working on this project from 16 different countries. This meant that, whatever the time was, you would always find somebody online who could help out in case there where any problems with a shot. Everybody was very enthusiastic about the project and it was a great team to work with.

The final result looks really nice and I am really happy that I had the chance to be part of it.

Here a few articles about the project:

http://www.cartoonbrew.com/tech/46-artists-16-countries-made-duel-using-artellas-online-platform-exclusive-145339.html

https://www.awn.com/news/artella-unveils-first-short-duel
http://rustyanimator.com/ra09/

http://www.iamag.co/features/animated-short-duel/

Here the final result:

Check out Artella.com, it is for free. Maybe you find something interesting!



Please up-vote/re-steem if you liked this post and follow me. Check out my other posts.

If you have any other suggestions/critique for future posts let me know in the comment section.

Sort:  

Looks pretty cool, I'll check it out!

Cool, I hope you will find something!

Thanks, same!

Amazing concept. Maybe we will see something similiar on a blockchain sometimes in the future. Thanks for sharing :-)

Who knows, I see more of these concepts emerging,.. so having one build on a blockchain would not surprise me!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68316.98
ETH 3856.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65