My predictions for the Oscars

in #film5 years ago (edited)

I think Roma, The Favourite, Green Book and Isle of Dogs were the films with real value for this year among Oscar nominees. For the must underrated films for this year for me is "The house that jack built" of Lars fon Trier - you can very rarely see such a good movie about a psychopath. A real masterpiece! I can say the same for "You Were Never Really Here".

the-favourite-olivia-colman-e1536618106294.jpg
image source

Best Motion Picture of the Year

Roma

Best Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role

Viggo Mortensen, Green Book

Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role

Olivia Colman, The Favourite

Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role

Mahershala Ali, Green Book

Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role

Rachel Weisz, The Favourite

Best Achievement in Directing

Alfonso Cuarón, Roma

Best Original Screenplay

Deborah Davis, Tony McNamara, The Favourite

Best Adapted Screenplay

The Ballad of Buster Scruggs, Joel Coen, Ethan Coen

Best Animated Feature Film

Isle of Dogs

Best Animated Short Film

Late Afternoon

Best Foreign Language Film of the Year

Roma

Sort:  

Animation is the only thing I care about and I have honestly a hard time to decide.
Isle of Dogs, Mirai and Into the Spider-Verse.

Decisions, decisions. Well, it's honestly more about Isle of Dogs vs. Into the Spider-Verse, since the people behind Oscars have a hate boner for anime.

However if I have to be honest I would bet my money on the Incredibles 2, because it's fricking Disney. And as we know. According to the Oscar critics Disney=animation.

BTW, When it comes to live-action I am betting my money on Bohemian Rhapsody and Black Panther.

If they had nominated Isle of Dogs for Best Motion Picture I would certainly voted for it :D

Black Panther is so so so overrated. The reason to nominate it is another, not the quality of the film. And it is really funny how if I say that maybe someone will think I am racist, but that's another topic. Before two years I was one of the few for which " Moonlight"was a real masterpiece and I expected him to win despite the strong competition of "La la land". I was crying on this movie, which is really rare thing. :D

And yes, I think the same - Incredibles 2 will win for animation.

Roma winning would be massive for Netflix. I mostly agree with your predictions. It would be nice to see Viggo win, but Christian Bale was so good in vice.

Yes, for me it is hard to tell for best male actor... I really like Willem Dafoe who plays
Vincent van Gogh too.... And I'm really scared if Rami Malek wins and I think that will happen.

For Actress is really easy to say that Olivia Colman will 100% win, she was brilliant.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94