Moebius: do yourself a favor and skip this one

in #film6 years ago (edited)

I had originally intended to write a review for this movie in full, but it is just too disturbing and I highly suggest you do not watch it.

There is a reason it is banned in Korea and likely elsewhere in the world. The director seems to be a bit of a lunatic and I can't say exactly what he was going for with this one except to make all of the viewers feel ill. The first lead actress quit the film shorty into filming.

I have a pretty strong stomach for these sorts of things and I couldn't finish watching it. I also have neighbors and I was starting to get concerned about the gruesome sounds coming from my living room. Thailand is a conservative country and I am probably breaking some sort of decency law by even watching it in the privacy of my own home.

moebius-5.jpg

Basically, the plot is that the father (and that is the only name he is given in the movie) has a psychopath for a wife and she, in her psychosis, decides to castrate their son for some reason.

aa69f6065ea65237186b2d4b40d1b30d.jpg
she is terrifying, and I would like to see her in something a bit less disturbing

He then goes from being a great student to ending up in jail because of circumstances I don't wish to describe. The rest of the film is focused on fixing the situation and a lot of really gross and disturbing things happen in-between.

The only reason I am even talking about this movie is because it is my week of disturbing Korean films and well, this one went too far.

However, i will include the trailer so you can decide for yourself

There are several publications that gave this 4 stars - they weren't exactly mainstream. I would say the only redeeming quality of this movie is that the entire film's story-line is conveyed to you without a single word of spoken dialogue and very little music. This was troubling to me at first because normally i will scan through a movie to make certain that the subtitles match up properly before starting it and I was getting a bit frustrated.

Despite it's artistic achievement in the realm or not using any words I gotta say there are some lines I don't wish to cross when watching a movie.

Director Kim Ki-duk crossed pretty much all of them in Moebius - therefore i pass judgement and award 3 / 10.

Watch at your own peril: Don't say I didn't warn you.

Sort:  

ummmmm... rusty blade, castration, eating the .. [BARF :-O>>> ] Thanks but no thanks man. Your going to have to post about puppies or flowers next to make up for this one. Visualization not able to be removed from my mind.. OH PLEASE! Be gone from my thoughts. lol.

What actually bothers me in this disturbing - and perversely hilarious - Korean Oedipal-Buddhist parable is not those hard-to-stomach scenes of genital mutilation, rape and incest but how technically awful it all is - the lighting, continuity, clumsy zooms and ugly camera movements. It actually was the most fucked up film of 2014.

The movie will be very nice. Your post is very nice thanks. @gooddream

Thank you for the review. While I do watch foreign films, I will definitely skip this one! You have a knack for writing good reviews and good recommendations, so anything you suggest that I have not yet seen, I am definitely up for watching. :) I will have to check back through your blog to see if you've done anything on Battle Royale or Ong-Bak as I've seen those and want to see if you've had an opinion on them.

Thanks for this post.

Another great review from you my friend, I can’t hold the laugh when you said you couldn’t finish the movie lol. A movie without dialogue is usually full of suspense cause the next scene couldn’t be predicted easily

Thanks for this review, it's really amazing story ,you've inspired me to watch it 😊!

Lol @gooddream, is it worse than the cannibal movies of the 80s era? I have to say the narration looks gruesome. At the same time, I'll probably watch it out of curiosity

so cool corean moviz,hero super seeing, movi is fighting

So according to this short preview, the son kind of got his penis cut off by his psychotic mum lol, i like to watch movies like this on sundays lol, please dont ask me why lol

Lol am definitely asking why?

Your post always makes my brain think, it is very good for me. Kim Ki-duk story is throwing a challenge
where an angry mother cut off his son's penis in retaliation for his husband's disloyalty. This violent film brings Mr. Kim to his weak character. Thanks @gooddream, honestly I am very unfamiliar with this story.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61626.58
ETH 2940.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66