You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Michael's Action Lase-O-Rama: Last Action Hero (1994, Columbia Tri-Star)

in #film6 years ago

@modernzorker I remember seeing this when it came out and really enjoyed it. I think mainly because, even though I'm a girl, I love action movies and love Houdini. I believe he v was mentioned in this movie. And the soundtrack was pretty awesome. This was one of the best movie reviews I've read on here since joining Steemit. Nicely done.

Sort:  

Thank you so much, @ilsaione! Last Action Hero always sticks out in my head because it's the first time I can remember seeing a contemporary movie that I enjoyed so much only to find out I was a distinct minority. Enjoying a movie few others seemed to wasn't a new thing for me (Disney's Tron, for example, was a beloved video store rental for years), but I didn't often get to see films on the big screen during their original theatrical runs and when I did they were usually entries in well-established franchises like Star Trek, Indiana Jones, and Back to the Future. You pretty much were guaranteed to have a great time.

Last Action Hero though was something totally different: a movie I loved but that seemingly nobody else, even people who shared my tastes, enjoyed. In a way, it started me on the path to writing today, because it forced me to confront a consensus against which I was an outsider and outlier. I spent copious pages in my journal working out why that was, what I enjoyed, and how I found gold where so many others found pyrite.

Last Action Hero is to blame for my Steemit career. HA! Eat that, film critics! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62498.25
ETH 3177.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79