Banking On Bitcoin (2016) - Film Review

in #film7 years ago

Banking On Bitcoin - A documentary which explains everything!

Hey there Steemians, today I am going to be reviewing a film that I watched quite recently, yesterday to be precise. This documentary explains everything from what Bitcoin is, where it can be used and the current problems that it imposes.

This film was created and directed by Christopher Cannucciari and was made in 2016, and was released on January 6th to the public. Please enjoy the review you are about to read!

What is this Film about?

This film is a documentary based around Bitcoin. It explains the fundamentals of Bitcoin and where it was founded, the dangers that Bitcoin has to the world. It includes interviews with business owners and the problems New York have caused with regards to the BitLicense. If you are interested in crpytocurrency, this film is a must watch - besides, why are you reading this post if you are not into crypto??? Just joking :)

Plot:

This film was created as Christopher Cannucciari wanted to make the world know about Bitcoin and its potential. It makes the world more informed about Bitcoin, the collapsing of Mt. Gox (the first major BTC exchange in Tokyo), Silk Road (a website on the Dark Web which accepted Bitcoin as a payment for illegal items) and Charlie Shrem (convicted for money laundering and started the BTC Exchange called BitInstant).

The film puts things into perspective about how Bitcoin is real and that individuals have lost out on a lot of money because of this virtual currency. This is the whole point of Bitcoin; the price to change all the time. Bitcoin is a very powerful and open-source project and has the potential to turn the poor in to rich, changing their lives and reducing the development gap in the process.

//Add more soon

Others Opinions

When you come to look at reviews on the Internet for this film, there aren't many good ones. The only find I can really find, is the rating. Which is 7/10 from IMDB. I personally disagree with this figure. It should be at least 9/10 as it really fascinated me! This film was created by 2 people and in a short space of time, they have done a pretty good job. I spoke to friends yesterday evening and got them to watch the film. Both of them knew nothing about Bitcoin. They watched the full 90 minutes and knew the fundamentals of it. I thought to myself, this is great! Its exactly what the director wanted it to do!

My Review

If I wanted to, I can sum the whole film up in ONE word. INSPIRING! It made me realise the potential of Bitcoin and how it's value will grow over time, due to there only being a maximum of 21,000,000 Bitcoins in circulation. I myself, learnt quite a lot about Mt. Gox and Charlie Shrem, who I kind of feel sorry for, but that is my own personal opinion. In short, this film is definitely an eye opener for those who do not care about Bitcoin. One day, the financial institution will collapse, and will be leaving people out by the millions. Bitcoin aims to resolve that issue, using a peer to peer system and no institution in the middle. Making you 'Be Your Own Bank.'

If you are interested in watching this film, be sure to look at the trailer first. It caught me by surprise straight away!

Thank you for reading this review Steemians! And if you enjoyed, please UPVOTE and FOLLOW me for some great content! (For those of you wandering, I am using the STEEM Machine Laptop to make this!) If you have seen the film, or want to know more information, please let me know down below in the comments. Have a great day and live life to it's fullest!

Jack.


Sort:  

Hehe I watched it from there too :)

Thanks for sharing this review, Jack. Looks like another awesome movie.
Upvoted & Followed you as well!!

Thank you :) It is a great movie. Highly suggest watching it :) Thanks for the up vote and follow!

Note: Thank you for all upvoters who made it possible for our post to reach $15. Can we make it reach $20 or even $30? Please resteem if you would like to see it happen!

Can you make money with bitcoin ?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70929.96
ETH 3846.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48