Layman recommends: The Act of Killing (documentary)

in #film7 years ago

Source

Simple synopsis

This documentary is shown in 2012. The film is based on the Indonesian killings of 1965 - 1966. The director Joshua Oppenheimer focuses his attention on the perpetrators whom are part of the death squad of these genocide killings. These death squad killers also volunteered to reenact their killings with an artistic take on the situation. The film explores the mental states of how these people who have committed these atrocities and are celebrated in Indonesia as heroes.  

My views and reaction

In 2012, by happenstance i saw the trailer of this documentary online. I was immediately fascinated and searched for the film in Singapore but to no avail. Intrigued and desperate i found a video sharing site that had the video and watched it at a low quality.

My first impression after watching the film was mostly of disbelief. It is a beautiful film where most of the scenes are artistically presented and breathtaking. (even on a low quality stream) The director captured the different emotions of these individuals perfectly through their expressions as he asked them to relive their experiences. 

The film challenged my beliefs about morality and justice. These people killed many innocent people either for political,ethnic or monetary purposes but most of them felt no guilt and celebrated their killings. Not only are they celebrated in the country but lived a comfortable life and they are still in power. The victims are still living in fear, sadness and some are still subjected to these people's oppression.

I wonder if i am put in their situation where my crimes are celebrated would i be of the same ilk? I have a different appreciation of my life in Singapore after the film. 

I maybe guilty of ignorance and naivety of how i reacted to the documentary. I therefore wish to ask you guys/gals who had seen the documentary to give me a better insight of how you felt or think about the film. 

The director produced a second part of the documentary called The look of silence which was just as good for me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70427.25
ETH 3798.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50