Her (2013): Viewer Timestamp Commentary (DVD)

in #film4 years ago

If you're hoping to get my brain download when I first watched the film...in terms of commentary...I'm going to direct you to my Tumblr post.


-


-


Before you scroll down and read this post. Know that the information below would likely contain spoilers from 'Her'.




-


-


-


-
 

My history on doing Timestamp Commentary dates back to Season 5 of Homeland. The reception to the idea had positives and negatives. I stuck with it for a couple of episodes, then moved to Tumblr (the home of 'the fan'). While on Tumblr I held off sharing my whole commentary, and just left it for readers who initially enjoyed reading my posts and requested it directly.   




-




-




-




-




-




-




-




-




-




-




(Just making sure the content is adequately hidden to give you  time
  to  close this window --- hold off before returning to view the  rest
of the post!)   




-




-




-




-




-




-




-




-




-





------------   



Title Menu - Whoa....I am swooning over this score. And...I didn't know Joaquin's eyes...we're so blue.


 ---------------  

Could this be my sparsest commentary ever? I think so. Could it be because I was too engrossed with the film to remember to note observations and reactions? Or was I bracing to press stop and eject knowing that this was an MA film?

I'm looking at one of the posters of the film (as well as the one that is displayed on IMDB) and I just want to give Theodore a hug. Gone is the link (for most of the time anyway) to 'Alvin and the Chipmunks'. I'm convinced after viewing the film (and writing about it a number of times and probably more in the near future), 'Theodore' and 'Twombly' would be forever linked.

So...for something that represents how I feel as I type this...I'll turn to the eloquence of others:

"Its funny how this movie brings out so much personality and perspective out of somebody just by sharing how they felt about it."

"I actually loved the way the idea of a superhuman intelligence was explored without making it seem unduly negative."

"...when Paul invited Theodore on a double-date, and Theodore had to admit he was dating an AI, and Paul just said 'cool' like he'd said he was dating a girl from Chicago. It kind of subverted the expectation of judgementalism and slipped in casual acceptance. I really felt like that was the key scene in the entire movie."

PS: And it is now...from a revelation from another favourite director (Nicole Holofcener --- which I am proud to say I consistently get the spelling correct...and just use the Interwebs as confirmation that I did) that 'Spike Jonze' is the stage name rather than 'Adam Spiegel' (as he credits his voice as the potty mouthed game character in the film).

Photo by Bridget Sip

(I picked this photo to represent a shopping centre or office block in Theo's world. I mean...it even has a bit of the palate Mats Holmgren & Erik Jessen put together to realise Spike's 'Jamba Juice' aesthetic.)

I look forward to reading your own commentary as a reply below or link to your post (whether or not it is on Steemit)! If you think you have the name of the next film or TV show I should watch...go for it.  Feedback is welcome here.     





For upvoting, I had heard from Steve Clark, that it is better to upvote posts that are less than 7 days old. So if you would like to be sure I get rewarded, head here to see newer posts.       

 



After reading this post (specifically item one), I've decided to include links for verification so any of the witnesses can confirm that I am me! :)  #1 - Here's a tweet linking to one of my Steemit posts#2 - Here's a page on my site with a Tweet from my handle embeded #3 - Here's my Thrive Feed (that links to my site, which links to my Twitter feed...which links to my Steemit feed...)   



Previous Commentary posts:    

(Film)          





(TV)          


(Screenplay)


Search Terms: Reader Commentary / Spike Jonze / Science Fiction / SciFi / Utopia / Los Angeles / Writer / Oscar Winner / Joaquin Phoenix / Loneliness / Connection / Divorce / Artificial Intelligence / AI / Manic Pixie Dream Girl / Chris Pratt / Rooney Mara / Bill Hader / Kristen Wiig / Scarlett Johansson / Amy Adams / Matt Letscher / Marriage / Matrimony / Wedlock / When Things Don't Go As Planned



Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61553.99
ETH 2881.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54