Love Wedding Repeat (2020): Viewer Timestamp Commentary (Netflix)

in #film4 years ago

First is 'Otherhood' (2019) and now this. And I say that with the most affection possible!

-

-

-

Before you scroll down and read this post. Know that the information below would likely contain spoilers from 'Love Wedding Repeat'.

-

-

-

-


My history on doing Timestamp Commentary dates back to Season 5 of Homeland. The reception to the idea had positives and negatives. I stuck with it for a couple of episodes, then moved to Tumblr (the home of 'the fan'). While on Tumblr I held off sharing my whole commentary, and just left it for readers who initially enjoyed reading my posts and requested it directly.   

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

(Just making sure the content is adequately hidden to give you time to close this window --- hold off before returning to view the rest of the post!)

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

------------

5:37 - Opening Credits – So...who's really bankrolling the film? Nice to see Olivia Munn headlining (her first?) romantic comedy. Just when I thought it was becoming too cheesy...Dean Craig pulls back and lets the narrator lean into the annoyance.

I know I shouldn't put it on Dina to weigh in, but she could have requested Greg to wait in the vehicle what she talks to Jack for maybe 10 minutes?

(Yes....if you find yourself in that same situation --- you have my permission to play that card! Just being aware that the risk is...the 'Jack' in your story might make fun of you and say that it isn't necessary. Then again...if that happened...and your 'Jack' regretted it? At least it's on him now. You don't need to worry about regretting anything...as you did what you could. You gave him an opportunity to say what he needs to say...and he didn't take it).

11:14 - Chaz confirms his name to Rebecca – And....insert a laugh track from my people! That 'penne' gag was definitely toeing the line for me. If that would be what I'm in for...the next hour? I think we're okay. And...maybe a 7/10?

For a moment there...I couldn't place Aisling Bea...then after looking at her filmmography....I got it: 'Living with Yourself'!

26:08 - Haley asks Jack to put Marc to sleep – Okay...that's fresh. Well done Dean! Why am I loving the supporting cast rather than the central couple? Could it be because unlike a lot of films that didn't make my recommendation list...this one spent adequate time in development?

27:08Jack ponders on what he's going to do next – Ask Dina for help!!! Go! Go!!!!

57:13 - Amanda headbutts Jack – What!? Not a slap, a punch...but a headbutt. Well done Freida Pinto for saying yes to this role! I definitely was not expecting that.

---------------

Similar to 'Otherhood', this one hasn't also received the kind of praise from critics that I had hoped. It's likely because both films hover in a spot that is silly yet not as raunchy (which I appreciated --- and it did keep its 'M' rating) as the likes of 'Ted' or 'The Hangover'.

What happens when you end up in an overlap? Well...usually not many of any of the demographics are there. So....that also means there are fewer critics there too!

(And...you're absolutely right! This also means...that if you're looking to write about these kinds of films. You would have a captive audience...because you wouldn't have much competition. So far? I only have found the one written by Owen Gleiberman for Variety. Owen recognises that though there are some ingredients we've seen before...it's still a fresh take. Sometimes that's all we viewers need: a tweak to an approach that worked well more than 20 years ago.)

The good news is that this might be the best I've seen Sam Claflin. Though I haven't seen a lot of his filmography except 'Adrift', 'Me Before You', and 'Love, Rosie'. Wait! Why did I forget 'Their Finest'? Which took me awhile to recognise him.

It's too bad that I wasn't viewing the DVD version as I would have been keen to see those scenes that were quite fun (like the ones included in the end credits) but didn't make it to the final cut.

And who initially provided the funding? At the end of the credits it pointed to Italy and the UK.

PS: It's also a reminder that the 'Netflix Original' badge doesn't necessarily mean that the streaming platform was bankrolling it from the start. Apparently, this one was an acquisition from Cannes.

---------------

Photo by Danny Casillas

(I picked this photo to represent something that could come up in Bryan's point of view --- keeping in mind that he was thinking it was all a dream.)


I look forward to reading your own commentary as a reply below or link to your post (whether or not it is on Steemit)! If you think you have the name of the next film or TV show I should watch...go for it.  Feedback is welcome here.     


For upvoting, I had heard from Steve Clark, that it is better to upvote posts that are less than 7 days old. So if you would like to be sure I get rewarded, head here to see newer posts.       



After reading this post (specifically item one), I've decided to include links for verification so any of the witnesses can confirm that I am me! :)  #1 - Here's a tweet linking to one of my Steemit posts#2 - Here's a page on my site with a Tweet from my handle embeded #3 - Here's my Thrive Feed (that links to my site, which links to my Twitter feed...which links to my Steemit feed...)   


Previous Commentary posts:    

(Film)          





(TV)          





(Screenplay)




Search Terms: Viewer Timestamp Commentary / Wedding / Siblings / star-crossed lovers war journalist / Rome / Italy / romantic comedy / Romance / Farce / Cringe / Silly / Family / In Laws / The Wrong Impressions / When Things Don't Go As Planned / Sam Claflin / Dean Craig / Olivia Munn / Freida Pinto / Eleanor Tomlinson / Joel Fry / Jack Farthing / Tim Key / Allan Mustafa / Aisling Bea / Paolo Mazzarelli /



Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61906.25
ETH 2905.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64