The Raid (Film): Review.

in #film5 years ago

I do not remember the exact moment, but @vimukthi had recommended The Raid, or mentioned it, however I wrote it down on my list, and a few days ago I gave myself the task of getting it. Today I had a free time, and I wanted to give it a try, and as with Oculus, another of its recommendations, I liked what I saw on the screen.


Image.png

>>Source <<


Year: 2011
Category: Action Thriller.
Director: Gareth Evans.
Cast: Iko Uwais, Joe Taslim, Donny Alamsyah, Yayan Ruhian, Pierre Gruno, Ray Sahetapy, Tegar Satrya, Iang Darmawan, Eka 'Piranha' Rahmadia, Verdi Solaiman.


Plot

A group of 20 heavily armed officers decide to enter the mouth of the wolf, a building controlled by Tama Riyadi, a highly dangerous criminal, with the aim of eliminating him.


Opinion

Rama, a Special tactics officer, decides to join a group of 20 men led by Lieutenant Wahyu, with the aim of raiding a highly protected building and thus killing the crime lord Tama Riyadi, who controls and observes everything from monitors, however, things will not happen as planned and the team will be cornered and killed one by one. Rama, who in addition to the mission also seeks to recover someone from the building, will discover that no reinforcements will come, because the mission is a move elaborated by Wahyu, which is corrupt.

I must say that it is one of the best action films I have seen, the movement of the camera is very good, the shots are great, the dark, gloomy and almost claustrophobic atmosphere of the building where the story unfolds is truly convincing, that along with one of the best fighting choreographies I've seen in my life and a lack of moderation on the part of the director to show us what ultimately this film is: violence and blood with a supposed background story that only serves as justification for the characters to be there, and kill each other.

There is no story to tell, no very long conversations with carefully elaborated dialogues, here men solve their problems in the only way that their differences allow it, with the only thing they have in common, shoot until the last bullet and then with the hand-to-hand combat. Killing or dying, that's the only rule.

The performance of the actors can only be evaluated in terms of the quality of their performance during combat choreography, and there they do very well each of the participants. However, the main actor, Iko Uwais, is our main point of reference in the film, and I think he played his role in a formidable way.

I do not have much to say about this movie, it's very good as entertainment, especially if you like action films. Everything is well done, if I had to criticize something, it would be the depthless story, however, a film of these specific characteristics does not require that kind of transcendence, so I consider the work done in the film is very good.


Trailer


Score

8/10

Very entertaining film, and violent, there is no type of censorship, which can be good or bad depending on the viewer. If you like action movies, this movie is for you.


Image.png

Sort:  

The fight choreography is amazing and so much more brutal than most martial arts movies

The sequel is really great too.

I have not seen the sequel yet, but I sure will.

Glad to see that you liked it. The sequel is basically adding a convoluted crime drama on top of even more innovative action sequences and both you can combine the budgets of both movies and you'd barely be able to film half an episode of Game of Thrones. Iko Uwais also starred in Headshot (2016) which shared some of he cast. It wasn't as good as Raid. The Night Comes for Us (2018) had great reviews but I still couldn't find the time to get into that.

Sha Po Lang Trilogy is another great collection to watch. SPL II was my favorite. It kind of felt like a cross between Greek tragedy and your typical HK martial art movie making a pretty great combination IMO. The third movie is called Paradox BTW:

The director is the same one who did Ip Man trilogy _ upcoming 4th movie.

Writing down my list...

Write.gif

For me it was the best action movie in 2011.

Undoubtedly, it is one of the best!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 8 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 3 SBD worth and should receive 112 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01