Sort:  

Well that should go in the movie, guys. ;)

Once I was camping and kept hearing an animal in the shelter. At first I thought it was a bear, but every time I turned on my flashlight I didn't see anything. I decided it must be something smaller, like a raccoon, to be able to disappear so quickly. Finally I realized it was just mice lol. They chewed some holes in my backpack. XD

I was one mile underground when my headlamp went out leaving me in pitch darkness! Talk about the tricks your mind plays on you are in a total absence of light!

Hi Brian,

I hope you're well :>)

Wait? You've been one mile underground? I would love to know where that was. Sounds exciting. But, as you say in the last sentence: darkness is just the absence of light.

Thanks for sharing this anecdote with me :>)

I worked in the mines in the NWT - Discovery and Tundra Mines. In discovery I worked at the 5700 foot level... and get this 600' in the air! Ha! Pitch black is scary as all hell. When you lose your helmet light, that's it. But at that depth, the silence without light distorts your interpretation of everything around you. Those boys in Thailand could hold onto each other. Alone, I've never encountered anything in my life that was more frightening. I was 18.

Wow! No words...

This sounds like a movie in itself and would also make for an awesome documentary. Ever considered turning it into a movie?

Yeah, I've thought about doing a film on the underground and probably will.

Awesome, another reason for me to keep an eye on you ;>)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98