Film Photography - A close look at Kodak TMax and Tri-XsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #filmphotography5 years ago (edited)

My take on the Kodak TMax 400 & Tri-x 400

In this post I uploaded some of the photos I took when I decided to compare my all time favourite film - the Kodak TMax with the highly regarded Kodak Tri-X.

First of all, this is a completely non-scientific comparison full of mistakes. Light conditions are completely different, camera settings are not the same and framing is not exact. That being said, I still think it gives a fine perspective of these films and why they have such a great reputation.

All photos were taken with a Leica iif with a Summaron 35mm f3.5 lens and the SBLOO viewfinder. If you want to know more about this camera check this post http://vintage-camera-lenses.com/leica-iif/ (or google it!). In general I am not a great fan of Leica. I just happen to prefer Nikon, in particular the F2 and F3. Anyways, I have to agree with Barnack being a genius and indeed the Leica iif and iiig are among the best cameras ever made (in my opinion!).

Back to Kodak, these first two photos show the differences in light conditions. In fact, there is only half an hour or so difference in time. It was an overcast day that suddenly opened...

39040002.jpg
Tri-x 400. Click on the image for full size!

39060021.jpg
TMax 400. Click on the image for full size!


Again we have more sunny against overcast than TMax vs Tri-X. I wonder how old these benches and table are. I can't imagine benches with tiles being constructed nowadays.
39040005.jpg
Tri-x 400. Click on the image for full size!

39060020.jpg
TMax 400. Click on the image for full size!


For small prints both photos look great with good resolution. It's when you make things big that the difference in resolution sticks out. The photo with Tri-x was probably taken at f5.6 or f8 and Tmax very likely at f3.5 or f4. Even though, comparing pixel to pixel TMax gives way more detail.
In my Retina MackBook the difference is actually staggering. TMax captured all those fine cracks in the tiles that are just lost with Tri-X.
39040008.jpg
Tri-x 400. Click on the image for full size!

39060017.jpg
TMax 400. Click on the image for full size!


Very interesting photo here that shows how valuable orange peels are in Hong Kong that people bother to climb to the top of the hill to have them dry. Anyways, google it and get surprised...there are hundreds of uses for orange peels...I suppose they can't be wrong.
39040014.jpg
Tri-x 400. Click on the image for full size!

39060009.jpg
TMax 400. Click on the image for full size!


This building has some kind or mirror high reflective glass facade that can be tricky to photograph. I think both films did a great job at holding details in the middle of reflections.
39040006.jpg
Tri-x 400. Click on the image for full size!

39060018.jpg
TMax 400. Click on the image for full size!


To finalize a landscape...and again both films show their qualities with impressive tonality and dynamic range.
39040029.jpg
Tri-x 400. Click on the image for full size!

39060003.jpg
TMax 400. Click on the image for full size!


Conclusion


I really love Kodak TMax....it's the film I have been shooting for a few years and I won't change. I couldn't get indifferent to Tri-X reputation so I had to give it a try. Results are amazing and both films live up to their reputation - TMax shines with its impressive resolution and Tri-X with its beautiful grain. I don't develop the negatives myself so I can't really comment on how easy or hard it is to develop TMax. But I have heard multiple times that it is way easier to get consistent results with Tri-X. If you develop your negatives at home keep that in mind.

#filmphotography #photography #streetphotography #photo #hk

Sort:  

Very cool experience. I don't know a thing about many of those settings. I usually just point and click. 😊

By the way, if you use eSteem to post, they will take 10% of your rewards but the photos are stored with the original quality. As you have surely noticed, SteemIt downsizes the photos 4x or 5x. 😑

Congratulations on your @curie vote.

thank you trincowski! I will give eSteem a try! lately I get a lot of crazy things when posting...including value of post decreasing after my upvote! happened quite a few times normally when I upvote old posts e.g. 3 or 4 days old..any tips? how can it be that I upvote and the value decreases?

Nevermind that. SteemIt had some bugs but it must be fixed by now. The value was correct on the blockchain even though SteemIt was showing some mistakes. Crazy developers. Eheh.

hi @fcdvpds

I agree with @maxwellmarcusart, not being a professional photographer it is difficult for me to see the differences, it seems to me above all a question of light but you yourself said that they were not taken at the same time so you cannot make a real comparison. But it was interesting to read your considerations and your choice. Are you a professional photographer? and do you prefer black and white photos?
Congratulations and thank you for sharing with us

thank for commenting @road2horizon! I have now added links to the photos...you can click and compare full sizes, you will see the are differences. I am not a professional photographer but really love to use old film cameras and record whatever interest things I find along the way...cheers

thank you! I'll go look at the differences !!

Seriously as a non photographer I would rarely observe much differences from the two shots but with your explanation and experiment, they show that there is a huge difference between both and the choice is left for the user to make. For you personally, you chose Kodak TMax.

take a moment to click on the phots and see the the originals at full size...I am sure you get the differences in texture!

Just did and the difference was clear.

Hello @fcdvpds
I came here through @curie

When I started reading your post, I totally gave up by seeing your statements about time and light differences along with the settings and all but still I tried to hold my interest to reach till the bottom and I can say that, it was worthful. I can clearly select TMax 400 for sure if I was still using the negatives. Smartphones ruined that era.

:-) I am glad you liked @bloggerkunal! I have now added links to the pictures so you can click to see 100% full sizes...you will see there are obvious differences besides the light...cheers

This post had received 11.65% upvote from @steemitportugal account!
Vote for @steemitportugal to Witness. Your vote is very important to us!
Visit our WebSite www.steemitportugal.com (tutorials,news...)
Thank you very much.
Click here to vote
steemitportugal
Delegation for daily voting: 10SP-25SP-50SP-100SP-250SP-500SP-1000SP

Hi fcdvpds,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

It is impossible for me to understand if there are differences, but I enjoy reading your post and to find this kind of contents here on Steem Blockchain.
Steem on!

Posted using Partiko Android

Tri-x is the ultimate newspaper film; fast, stable to develop and high contrast, can be pushed easily. I really liked the sharpness. It has been years since I used it, but I still have some in my freezer from when I thought Kodak was going bust!
You converted me to TMax though @fcdvpds!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00