Flight to Moose Creek | Photo Essay | Shot on Fuji Superia 400

Moose Creek, Idaho

I've already shared a handful of digital photos from this trip and those can be seen in the posts below. A couple weeks ago I sent off a few rolls of film, and when I got the scans back I realized I missed the first roll that I finished once we got to Moose Creek. Once I find where I put that roll, I'll send it in and hopefully we'll get to see those before too long. Consequently, the photos here are from our last evening in Moose Creek and then the flight out.

The Flight Out

Like I talked about in this post Idaho Selkirk Wilderness, the smoke was really thick the morning we left and cast a dirty haze over the mountains. Nonetheless the scenery was breathtaking, and the smoke helped create depth in the layers of ridges that stretched to the horizons.

These photos definitely have a different feel than the digital photos I posted. They are shot on Fuji Superia Xtra 400 and lightly edited in Lightroom CC Classic. At first I felt like it was "cheating" somehow to edit film photos digitally. However, the minute you scan them to a digital file you are essentially taking a digital photograph of the negative and editing it, thereby kind of losing whatever mystical idea we might have about film being the pure medium. All that to say, I edit my film shots.

Hope you enjoy these mountain views. I definitely did, and nearly got a stiff neck from craning around checking out everything as we flew past it.

000066210013.jpg

000066210012.jpg

000066210008.jpg

000066210015.jpg

000066210014.jpg

000066210011.jpg

Moose Creek

This location is sometimes heralded as a Pilot's Getaway, and for good reason. The history of this camp and airfield is rich. In the early 1900's, the first forest rangers came here to survey and get a lay of the land. The first buildings were built in the 1920's and are still standing today on the end of the shorter airstrip. In modern years the station is manned by a single volunteer during the late spring and summer months. This person is flown in and stays for 6-8 weeks, keeping the yard watered, the firewood cut, and checking in daily with the next station down the river. It seems like the most idyllic lifestyle, even though the work is hard and the labor is all manual. It is located in a wilderness area meaning no mechanized tools or equipment. The airstrip is mowed by a team of mules, with an old fashioned sickle mower. It's truly a paradise, lost in the wilderness!

000066210009.jpg

The Selway River

As my wife, and the other couple we flew in with were hanging out at the campsite, I took a trail from our campsite down to the bridge which you can see in a few of the photos below. It's pretty neat for me to be able to see the places we went to from the air. You should be able to get a decent handle on the lay of the land from the "map" I labeled.

It was quite dusk by the time I got down there and I didn't have a tripod, so I carefully handheld each of the shots below at anywhere between 1/30th of a second to 1/4 sec. They aren't technically the greatest photos, but they remind me of the evening quite well.

selway map.jpg

000066210003.jpg

000066210005.jpg

The terrain is steep and awesome, takes your breath away!

000066210002.jpg

It's incredible to think this bridge and others like it on the Selway, were constructed with materials and tools that would've all had to be flown or mule packed in. The nearest road is 25 miles from this bridge.

000066210004.jpg

As soon as I get my other roll of film back from the lab, I will write up another post showing you more photos from the ground, as well as an abandoned ranch on the Moose Creek that we hiked to, and crossed the river to explore. This was a trip I won't soon forget, and I feel so fortunate to have had the opportunity.

Thanks for reading!


Purchase my photos on Stocksy United! Stocksy United - Justin Mullet
Creating authentic outdoor and landscape photography primarily in the Western United States. Featuring a beautiful portfolio of stock photos that portray some of the earth's most peaceful and quiet areas, and portraying rural life at its best!

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @for91days and earned you a reward, in form of a 100% upvote and a resteem. Your work really stands out! Your article now has a chance to get featured under the appropriate daily topic on our TravelFeed blog.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord

Hi justinmullet,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Hi Justin!

The views are quite beautiful, very nice!
How many days you stayed in that place?
Is it safe living in that place for long or for life?

We only stayed there one night. While we were there a man in his mid 60's flew in with a Super Cub and was going to camp there until he felt like moving on, probably a few days. There was also the caretaker of the property who had been there for one week, and was set to stay another 5-6 weeks. It is relatively safe in the spring, summer, and early fall since there is running water at the ranger station and a creek with fresh water below the airstrips. There are also some basic medical supplies at the ranger station that could be utilized as well as a small store of food. The primary risk would be of major injury that would require immediate medical attention, and depending on how far you'd be from the ranger station would determine how quickly you could radio for help. Overall, I wasn't concerned for my safety.

Oh that's a great information!
I guess it would be better if many people would love the place and build communities there and helping each other for the good of all, a common good.
And mostly old people want a quiet and remote place.

You have great shots there. The aerial mountain views are a sight to behold. I also like the photos of the river. It is very serene and peaceful. What a great way to be one with nature! Thanks for sharing them.

At first I felt like it was "cheating" somehow to edit film photos digitally.

I once felt the same way. I thought editing digital photos were like cheating. Later on, I realized that it is not cheating but the evolution of photography. I am actually surprised that you are still using films but that is also good as I believe film results have their own uniqueness.

The campsite seem so remote so I wonder how safe it is. How long did you camp out there?

Thank you, it was a beautiful, restful experience. We camped just one night, and in total spent a little over 24 hours there. Shooting film is just a side hobby, that helps add some fun and diversity to my photography. It's just for fun. :)

Indeed, photography is fun! That is on top of the memories it creates and keeps. Do you have your own lab in developing the films?

I don't, but developing film at home is on my list of things to do!

Good going! Soon you can have photo development business with that. 😊

This makes me miss Idaho!!! What an underrated state that is! Would have loved to fly over it too!

This trip made me realize that there are a lifetime of adventures in Idaho alone. The west is filled with so many great, and quiet places.

Hi @justinmullet. Your pictures are really wonderful and classy. The mountains, the river, the sky, the grasses, they all contribute to make the shots amazing. Good job!

Thank you so much!

Those views are so breathtaking. Love the mountains and the greens that are so all over them and also the steam of water passing down there.it's a delight to see...

I love how films do give a different feel to photos. Definitely, both digital and this form of photography are awesome... Great photos!

Thank you! I really enjoy both as well.

Dear @justinmullet,

Your story attracted our attention and we would like to introduce our tag #archisteem that could provide you with some extra support. For your information, we are currently running the project – 1001 Places to Remember. Your content is a fit for the project and could be qualified for the 10 Steem reward biweekly contest.

It would be great if we can have this story of yours included in the project. If you agree, please reply to us.

Do drop by and take a look :) Hope to see you around soon.

Stay tuned and Steem on!

Sincerely from,

@archisteem and team

I love analog photography, I have a Minolta xt-100 my first camera that is still operational and with which I learned to take photographs, never cease to amaze me the quality of this type of graphics.

Unfortunately it is very compacted to get rolls on this side of South America.

definitely the smoke gave depth to each of the aerial photos, the imposing and majestic passage.

I also would have edited softly in a digital program without altering the colors that gives the roll of film, after all that magic we can not find it no matter how many filters we apply in LG or similar programs, at one time try to emulate the color of kodakchrome but then stop making more attempts will never look like before.

the frames are fabulous, something that must be handled very well in the analog photography because we can not cut digitally even if we would be cutting the entire format.

great work friend, thank you for sharing these vintage graphics <3

greetings, peace and love

PS: How much does a fujifilm roll cost?

I love these old times photographs. They make me think about my youth and my uncle taking photos and developing them in his dark room. I have never had such camera. My parents didn't have money for it and by the time that I was able to get my own, it was digital already. But also my cousin had one old camera and I remember her excitement when she came home from the lab. The first think she would do would be tearing the envelope and checking all the photos. It was so exciting for her. She continue taking them even when digital cameras were available. I must say she was not a good photographer at all but loved capturing the memories.

How does it feel to fly in such a small plane? It must be very bumpy. You managed to keep your hands very steady as the photos are nice and crisp.

I would not worry about digitally adjusting them. They didn't lose their flair anyway :)

Thank you for sharing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99