day 2

in #filmphotography6 years ago (edited)

"There's this girl in my class that just started shooting film,... thought you guys might get along," a teacher friend said one day.

I hate those things,... just because you have similar interests rarely means that you'd get along,...

Brandi_reeds+shoot_0012x6x7nb.jpg
Buttery - shhhh 2 - Pentax 67, Kodak Tri-x 400 in caffenol

Just because you speak the same language doesnt mean that you speak the same language.

I normally turn these things down,... and crawl back under the rock that is my darkroom.

but I didnt for some reason,...

maybe the smell of fixer annoyed me that morning.

day 2 of the next 9 months was this picture.

I tend to shy away from things that I don't like,... I tend to go home where it would be more comfortable than go to a party for someone I've hardly said two words to.

But once in a while I get masochistic and say yes to silly things I'd rather not do....

In most cases, something wonderful comes from those "wastes of time" . Things that you wouldn't otherwise have come across. People you wouldn't otherwise have met.

Buttery above is one of them,...

As a result I've taken to registering my initial reaction, saying "ok I hear you" to myself,...

And then doing the opposite thing.

Hence my recent "carry my pentax everywhere" decision,...

It's stupid and heavy and a waste of time,...

But if I hadn't done just that, I wouldn't have met Rabbit:

24874455940_fc83299842_o.jpg
Rabbit, Canon EOS 1n, some colour film, probably superia 400

Sort:  

thank you Walter :D

and you have a new follower!

thank you gmike :D

Fantastic blog. I'm glad that I'm following you from now on so I can stay up to date with your photography. I also like your style of your writing, always deep and intriguing. Keep up the great work @shuji 🙂

thank you Oen! Steemit seems to bring out the writing a bit more than other platforms :)

lovely read especially about a language that shared but not understanded

Thank you Victor 😊 indeed, the same language often leads to more misunderstandings 😋

Interesting picture

Thank you 😊

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #portraitphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Saturday.

You have earned 5.55 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.11
Server time: 06:50:09
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 150.05/200.00
Total Photos: 27
Total comments: 8
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.75 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61361.03
ETH 2932.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67