Weight training with the Pentax 67

in #filmphotography6 years ago (edited)

The first time I saw her I laughed,... I scoffed at her size and sheer in-your-facedness,... literally.

She just looks stupid, that overgrown SLR,... what idiot would run around with a thing like that?

Even her Japanese nickname seemed to be taking the piss,... bakepen,... short for obake pentax which translates to monster pentax.

mogi jan 2018_28.jpg
Kame-san with his new Pentax 67 and fuji pro 400h in not the best of light

and then my Mamiya RZ67 developed an electrical fault that couldnt be repaired up in Tokyo,...

and there happened to be a Pentax 67 for rent at the local photoshop,... and the rest as they say is history.

You will hear alot of cons about the Pentax 67,... two recurring ones are these:

she's heavy! - she is, but from the way photogs bitch about her you'd think they all had the upper body strength of a nine year old girl.

that massive mirror, oh the mirror slap, oh the shutter shock! - you have a point,... if you don't know how to hold a camera properly for the shutter speed you've selected. Her sheer bulk makes her handholdable down to 1/30, past which anyone not shooting a leaf shutter will struggle with on any system. ( Landscapers would know about the mirror lock-up)

mogi jan 2018_26.jpg
Ninja Rabbit, Pentax 67 and fuji pro 400h in not the best of light either

Granted, she's not small,... she gets in the way if you carry her around like a regular camera,....

But being an oversized SLR, she shoots just like one,...

Put her down on the side when you're having your banter,...

And when you see the shot, just pick her up and she's ready to go. Just like a regular SLR.

And when you're done, just push her out the way.

There's no fuss over metering because the built in one is always spot on, and being a needle means no faffing about with numbers and fractions.

There's no need to baby her because she's built like a tank.

And if anyone tries to mug you just swing her at their head,... you'll crack their skull and be able to take a picture of your assailant for the police without missing a beat.

The blood will wash off and she wont have a scratch on her :D

Sort:  

I'm a Nikon user for nearly everything, but I always found this camera very fascinating. Amazing how well it holds up today. The only film camera I carry now is my old Nikon L35AF

Hi there, it is worth playing with if you get a chance. It is fundamentally so basic that it just let's you get on with taking pictures.

The L35AF is quite special isn't it? I recently found a Nikon lite touch af600 , amazing lens on that thing,... Your camera's great great grandchild perhaps 😊

Hope to use one someday. As long as it feels good in the hands I shouldn't have too many complaints. Oh man, I've had almost a dozen of them over the years. It is hands down the best p&s camera imo. I had a Contax T3 for a while before selling it a few months back. Wonderful camera but could never capture my attention lie the nikon. I actually still have my first one

ooh i just had a flickr google-fest and that nikon does look very nice :D

oooh that is quite a testimony for it! I might have to try pick one up soonish. I'm sure they're pretty unknown on this side of the world. I do prefer the wider angle stuff, but you've made me curious :D

Selling the T3 now is great timing, every hipster is after one after that instagrammer celeb lady started waving hers about,.. i forget her name.

You won't be disappointed(I hope haha) that camera is always on me. I hope you can pick one up over there but try to go for the 1000asa version. $5-$15usd is what I usually thrift them for but they've already hit the $120-$150 range in just under 3 years. The camera shop here used to resell them for around $25 but now are labeled $100+

I'm sure I've seen them in the thrift stores as well here,... it's the weekend so maybe a shopping trip is in order :D

i used to have that camera too! loved it :)

they're getting a bit pricey these days... do you still shoot?

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #portraitphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Saturday.

You have earned 5.65 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.13
Server time: 14:30:33
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 166.35/200.00
Total Photos: 29
Total comments: 13
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.20 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I really like these color tones.

Fuji film is great for colder tones. But I've heard that it's crazy expensive outside Japan. How much is it where you are?

Portra400 here is just nuts 😫

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62777.17
ETH 2951.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59