A movie everyone loves but I don't: Ferris Bueller's Day Off

in #films5 years ago

I think part of the reason WHY i don't like it is because of the fact that it was and is basically force fed to you, especially if you were around Ferris' fictional age at the time of the film's release.

0186dba0-a58a-4b83-b14f-506838d7552e_1.cb3f0170b54ae625e231f366a41cc959.jpeg
source

I feel a little bit bad saying this because I haven't met very many celebrities, but due to a mutual friend (what's that 2 degrees thing?) I have met him several times and he is an extremely down-to-earth, funny, generous, and just "normal" person. That doesn't mean I have to blindly love all the movies he is in just because I kinda know that guy. (Inspector Gadget is trash also.)

So Ferris Bueller's day of is a coming of age film about a very charismatic and charming high-school senior who simply want to take a day off from school but rather than just sit at home after successfully convincing his parents he's sick, he makes a massive adventure out of it.

ferris-bueller.0.0.jpg
source

He wants to get his best pals involved in his adventure so he "breaks them out" so to speak. His girlfriend Sloan has to be broken out of school and his pal Cameron is genuinely sick and at home alone. Here is something that kind of get s me about the whole Ferris character: He is extremely selfish. He didn't ask Sloan if she wanted to be broken out of school and Cameron is extremely ill yet Ferris won't leave him alone even though Cam tells him multiple times to piss off.

Yeah, i know it's a movie and I should just relax

OS56GGBT4BHLZJCR6IJOYAMEJU.jpg
source

Don't get me wrong, I am not trying to suggest that this movie is bad because it definitely isn't. I just don't think that it deserves the legendary status that it has. I don't think it should be on a list of "best films from the 80's" or some even go as far as to suggest it is one of the best comedies of all time. Really? How? I don't think i have laughed at anything in the movie (because it is more creative than comedy) other than Ben Stein saying "Bueller Bueller Bueller."


tl;dr

Maybe it is just me, but I disagree with the perpetual hype surrounding this film and i was alive when it was released

87e948ced0b279a8e7b574f46e6a20fd.jpg

FBDO is an ok movie and I appreciate the "breaking the 4th wall" tutorials that Ferris gives to the audience. However, I don't think it should be as lauded as it is - getting pushed into the sky to god-like proportions. I don't think it is iconic nor do i think it is particularly funny. It is a good film, but there are people out there that insist it is one of the best movies ever made. These same people probably really enjoyed "Clerks" (which I also think is over-rated) in the 90's and insist that Reservoir Dogs is the best Tarantino film (it isn't.)

This is just one of those things where I disagree with the masses.

Do you have any films that everyone else seems to love but you either hate it or think it is "meh" ? I've love to hear about it....

Sort:  

I’d agree with all of this. It’s not a great movie. Mediocre at best, but it fell in to a time and space that it’s culturally relevant. Meh.

this would actually be a much better tl;dr than the one i chose to write although i wouldn't go as far as to say it is mediocre.

I haven't even seen her!

well, you still should because like i wrote, it isn't a "bad"film... it is just overrated in my opinion

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I think this is a good movie, but looking back I can't say as though I really laugh at it that much. Like you said, it is more creative than comedic. I have a whole different outlook on it now that I know Rooney was a raging pedo in real life. Ferris was selfish, there is no doubt about that. Overrrated, the only one I can think of off hand is probably A Christmas Story.

Jeffrey Jones (Rooney) was a pedo? Gonna have to look this up.... I'll be damned, I had no idea but now that you bring it up if there was ever a guy who looked the part....

That movie is junk!!!!!!!!!

I definitely agree with your opinion. Ferris Bueller's Day Off is an okay film but it's nowhere near the best 80s film. Like you, I didn't really find any part of it comedic. It's not even John Hughes' best 80s film. That would go to Planes, Trains and Automobiles imo.

Another film of Hughes from the 80s, that's an okay but overrated film, is The Breakfast Club.

well now i agree with you too. Planes Trains was epic and much much funnier than Ferris Bueller's Day off and I think the Breakfast Club is one of the most boring films ever made.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66439.14
ETH 3005.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68