Bohemian Rhapsody (film): Excellent and informative

in #films5 years ago

It took me a while to get around to this one because it isn't on Netflix and it only stayed in the local theaters for one weekend. Probably because movies like this never do very well in Thailand because the population isn't terribly familiar with Queen. It has been a while since I saw a film that was as nicely done as this and I only looked at my phone maybe once or twice while it was one.... that's a sign that a film is done well in my world.

1961992280947997963.jpg
source

I don't think it's really necessary to explain this film to most people but it is about primarily Freddie Mercury and the rise of the band Queen to the superstardom they achieved in the 70's and 80's.

The movie dives a great deal into the personal family life of Freddie Mercury and I actually learned a few things along the way. When Queen was at their pinnacle of success, being gay wasn't socially acceptable, but honestly, you didn't have to be terribly perceptive to realize that Freddie Mercury wasn't straight.


source

Rami Malek (whom I had only seen in Mr. Robot prior to this) does an excellent portrayal of Freddie and while I can't say that it is how Freddie sounded and acted in person (i've actually never seen an interview of the real Mercury) his stage mannerisms are on point and although he did not do a vast majority of the singing (because well, who could?) I feel as though his portrayal was spot on.

0_Bohemian-Rhapsody-The-Movie.jpg
source

The movie is tragic, because we already know how it ends, but in the meantime we are treated to some historical information that I would imagine that most people were unaware of. For example: I had no idea that Freddie had such an exotic background, that his family was Zoroastrian, or the he maintained such a loving relationship with his wife even after he "came out."

Although i think it would be helpful if you were already a fan of Queen beforehand, that certainly isn't necessary to enjoy this film. Freddie was a truly gifted individual, as were / are the other members of the band who formed a cohesive unit the likes of which the world hasn't seen many times. They were truly unique both in the time period that they made the music in, and in a timeless sense. There were some complaints among fans and critics about how the timeline was a skewed in the film but to those people I say "go watch a documentary buddy!" This was meant to be entertainment... and it certainly is that

on a side note it is noteworthy to say that Sasha Baron Cohen (Borat) was originally meant to play Freddie, but due to creative differences with the remaining members of Queen, his involvement in the project was abandoned.

On a scale of "Urgh!" to "Wowsers!" I give Bohemian Rhapsody the overall score of.....


index.png

Sort:  

He is a character who will be remembered for all time!

I am planning to watch this because every review tells me it was amazingly done. I didn't watch Mr. Robot for some reason it didn't grow on me but I am a huge fan of Rami. He was in the movie Need For Speed in 2014 which is the only reason I watched it. I find him hilarious :)

EXCELENTE AMIGO , TE INVITO POR FAVOR VEAS MI CANAL . HAY UN BLOG DE LA PEQUEÑA ALEMANIA DE VENEZUELA , LA ALEMANIA DEL CARIBE , PROMUEVO LA CULTURA DE MI PAÍS Y LA MÚSICA EN GENERAL , GRACIAS Y MUCHO EXITOS

My wife and I just watched this about a month or so ago. We both really enjoyed it. There was really only one thing that I was disappointed about. I thought it was going to be more about the music and less about Freddie specifically. I don't really mind, but I was hoping to get a deeper look or explanation about some of the stories behind the songs and things like that. I guess that will have to be saved for my own research.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85