Destination Wedding

in #films5 years ago

I quite like Keanu Reeves in a specific capacity and I always root for Winona Ryder to make a comeback because I think that given the correct environment she is actually a wonderful actress. It seemed like teaming the two of them up would almost certainly result in some sort of magic but unfortunately this movie is just terribly terribly dull.

Destination-Wedding-movie-release-date-Dubai.jpg

It isn’t just boring, but the lines seem forced and the dialogue takes place in an absurd manor. When I say that I mean that no one talks the way that these two do throughout the film. Their sentences to one another are too…. artsy and deep while still attempting to appear as though these are off-the-cuff statements by two people. It is also meant to be a comedy, but i didn't even come close to a laugh.

The story is that Lindsey (Ryder) and Frank (Reeves) are heading to the same wedding that neither of them really want to attend. Of course they are both single. They don’t know each other but immediately rub one another the wrong way from the very start despite the fact that what they started saying was pleasant enough.

j4a5885_rgb.jpg

Some people just annoy one another – I can certainly relate to that. However, luck keeps bringing them together such as being seated next to one another on the plane, having adjoining rooms at the hotel, and being seated at the same table at the rehearsal dinner.

13wbkf.jpg

One particularly bad scene is where Ryder opens what she believes to be her closet and it turns out it is a door that leads to his room where he is in a state of undress. I mean, have you EVER opened a closet and walked into it without, i dunno, having a look first or maybe turning on the light? This is how people fall down elevator shafts i guess. Maybe it is because I have never had a walk-in closet that was as big as a living room complete with sofa and television.

It’s dumb. It’s like Blended(Adam Sandler movie) but without the occasional laughter (this film is not a comedy – I don’t know what you would call it.) The dialogue, which is meant to be thought-provoking and dare I say, inspiring, is delivered in a wooden way (especially from Reeves – no real surprise there) and to say that Ryder and Reeves have zero on-screen chemistry is an insult to chemistry, screens, and the number zero.

This movie received mixed reviews and for the professional critics that said they liked it, i have a difficult time understanding how. Because Reeves is attempting to do something other than action? This film pulled in under 600,000 dollars, which is just an afternoon of shopping (without shoplifting) for Ryder.

Keep in mind that I like both of these guys but this film just has no redeeming qualities whatsoever. It takes about 8 minutes to be bored out of your mind but because you WANT IT TO BE GOOD you hang on, waiting for a twist that never comes. Then it is over and you can’t believe you wasted an hour an a half of your life on this turd. I’m sure there is someone out there that likes this, but I am not that guy, nor will I ever be.

1 / 10

Sort:  

Haha @gooddream - I just read your review out of curiosity, as I saw the movie in the cinema (imagine wasting money and time of your life on this), and it was such a terrible experience! I was bored to death, and the entire movie just felt like a disaster from start till end. Even my nachos with salsa dip didn't manage to make this a nice experience!

By the way, comparing this to Blended is giving this movie way to much credit. Blended was actually quite funny, and Drew Barrymore and Adam Sandlar had way funnier and more interesting conversations than what could be seen in Destination Wedding.

My summary of this movie:
Imagine two depressed people, who have nothing to speak about and nothing to live for... now you watch their totally boring lives for two hours... it is either totally cool, or incredibly boring... unfortunately this movie was the latter...

Awesome follow up buddy. You made me laugh. 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

At least the movie resulted in a little laughter then, at least :)

This must your lowest rating ever, but probably not.
You can tell from the poster that there is no chemistry. It like they pasted to separate pictures together.

I rated something zero once, but it was in jest

Posted using Partiko Android

Watching a movies which is really board and you have to seat there to wait for twist in that movies and if dont come then after around 2 hours you spend at multiplex to wait for twist in movies that is really frustrating a thing. Lol

Posted using Partiko Android

I must admit I skipped some of it

Posted using Partiko Android

Never watched that movie and so god help me never will...there is a possibility that my girlfriend will be in charge to choose a movie...but probably not even then

I don't know how many movie vetoes you get but for the love of everything holy use one here!

Gooddream I want to see a good movie, please review a 9 or 10 to run out to see it. When you make these publications I get excited, but seeing the score you give my disappointment is great. I hope for a good movie soon. A hug, my friend.

More than half of my reviews are positive. I'm sure there's something in there for you. 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29