Her (film): I found it disturbing(-ly bad) but critics loved it.... why?

in #films5 years ago (edited)

So the story is about a lonely man who develops a loving relationship with an operating system's artificial intelligence.

That's the story folks. There really isn't much else to include. Maybe some sort of film student out there can explain to me how this is a wonderful story-line or how it isn't creepy AF.


source

I suppose you could give some accolades to Joaquin Phoenix for being able to act out some of the scenes, some of which are sexual. However, to me, this made me feel really uncomfortable. Now I know there are people out there that develop romantic relationships with fantasy horses and furries and what not but I would have a difficult time relating to that as well. It seems just as nuts.

her_promotional_images29_1020.jpg
source

Phoenix plays the lead role of Theodore Twombly; a socially awkward man who suffers from depression due mostly to the fact that he is currently getting a divorce and doesn't want to. He gets a "personal assistant" in his electronic devices and over time develops a relationship with it. Of course it does have Scarlett Johansson's voice so I guess I can understand that part of the attractions.

The film might be trying to say something about addiction to technology and how things might be getting out of control in the not-too-distant future, and I think to a certain degree I can identify with that. However, I think that if people develop a romantic relationship with an non-existent entity, this can only be normalized so much.

I don't really have a problem with people living their lives however they want to. That's not the point. If someone out there wants to have sexy time with a robot voice I say friggin go for it. As long as you aren't hurting anyone else, that's your business.

My problem with this is the way that the critics were stating preposturous things such as "this is the best film ever made." With almost universal praise from main-stream critics, Her ends up on a lot of lists that I don't think it belongs on. Yet again, I differ in my mindset from a great deal of the professional movie-reviewers out there. I suppose that since I disagree with nearly every Oscars that I shouldn't be terribly surprised by this.

I played this film one time when I was managing an establishment that showed movies at night. We never played it again.

On a scale of "Urgh!" to "Wowsers!" I award "Her" the overall score of......


meh-cat.png

Sort:  

That’s crazy, but not unbelievable.... more and more people are starting to shy away from social situations and turn to electronics ..... we sit next to our spouses on the couch .... but text and play games on our phones rather than talk to each other .... we are too lazy and anti social to pick up the phone to order our food ... instead we use grub hub .... others .... have social anxiety ... are afraid of being alone ... or afraid of rejection .... it’s really sad !

it really is a remarkable time to be alive. I think that people who have always lived with the existence of the internet, are less aware that there was a time when we actually knew 20 some odd phone numbers of our friends by heart. :)

It wouldn't surprise me if in 20 years everyone just dates androids until their uprising eventually results in the elimination of humans altogether. :P

I remember seeing the previews for this and my wife and I just looked at each other and said WTF! I think the premise has some merit, but I don't know if I would go so far as to call it ground breaking or anything like that. I have no doubt many authors have already covered this subject matter at length.

Hello, @gooddream. I haven't seen the movie, but everything is possible in this reality in which technology consumes. What years ago seemed impossible to us in terms of communications, for example, is what is now everyday. And so more things will come and our capacity for astonishment will have no limits.

Love the review, lol at the rating, i dont like meh movies so thank you I wont be watching this one. It will be actually easy for some people to get emotionally attached to AI because it is programmed learn its human controler and adjust...creepy but possible, its an interesting idea.

I have never watched the movie before but with this interesting update I think am interested I watching it. Nice one @gooddream

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

No one knows what criteria are used to judge films that invest heavily in their editing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60725.43
ETH 2900.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59