Seabiscuit (film) : the 2nd movie about a horse I ever liked

in #films5 years ago

The other one was Black Beauty and I saw it as a very young child. I don't know if i would appreciate it anymore but I liked it then.


source

I'm talking about this today because bringing it up at a table last night nearly started a bar fight. This is what happens when someone who is a horrible drunk "knows" something and becomes aggressive over being proven wrong. You can read more about that idiot here.

I didn't see this film for many years after it was made because the overall topic didn't appeal to me nor was a familiar with the actual story behind the film. I was also a bit sick of Tobey Maguire at that point because of overexposure. Basically Seabiscuit was an undersized thoroughbred horse that was actually going to be "put down" at one point because he was too small to be considered for horse-racing. This film showcases the series of events that lead to Seabiscuit rising in the ranks and eventually becoming one of the most famous horses of all time.


source

Charles S. Howard is the owner of Seabiscuit and it played in the film by Jeff Bridges, who I consider to be one of the best actors of his generation.

I think that should be fairly evident by the trailer and also maybe just the poster. This film also kind of takes the turns that you expect it too although there are a few twists along the way. The music is perfect and although it seems unlikely, they are able to make the audience emotional, about a horse - which just made me flash back to Black Beauty.

This film was released in 2003 and I didn't see it until a decade later. If you haven't seen this movie, you really should because I think it is one of the best films since the turn of the millennium. The trailer really shows, extremely well, how good this movie actually is. For me it was difficult to imagine that a movie about racing horses would be a winner, but it really really is. It went on to make a relatively disappointing $70 million at the box office and while it was nominated for 7 Academy Awards, it didn't win any of them.

On a scale of "urgh!" to "Wowsers!" I give Seabiscuit the overall score of....


index.png

the near bar fight happened because the horrible drunk was insisting that Sean Connery was in this film instead of Jeff Daniels and he became enraged when proven otherwise... it should have just been funny, but booze does crazy things to people

Sort:  

You must have never seen The Man from Snowy River or Hidalgo then. Those were both great movies about horses :) I haven't seen this one but as I have gotten more interested in horse racing the past couple of years I might have to swing back to it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60896.14
ETH 2915.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55