The Running Man (film): It was one of my favorites.... at the time

in #films6 years ago

This movie is more than a bit absurd when i watch it today, but as a little kid, i thought it was awesome.

77c4c0fd6c599a3d4932f19884cea727.jpg

In yet another movie where the world has collapsed in one form or another (this time economic) the population is kept placated by the broadcasting of popular game shows where convicted criminals fight for survival in an arena of sorts where there are various "heroes" that are hunting them. If they win the contest, they go free - that's pretty much the only rule.

Arnold plays the role of Ben Richards, a wrongfully convicted police officer who elects to enter the game in lieu of two of his pals in a very Hunger Games twist. However, unlike Hunger Games, his buddies are still put into the system anyway. Obviously this makes Ben Richards angry and he vows revenge on those that put him in this situation.

the-running-man.jpg

The heroes were a lot of fun to pre-teenage me, but now looking back they are just completely absurd. Especially this guy, named Dynamo, who kills you with bolts of electricity from his suit. Plus he is an accomplished singer.

dynamo.jpg

I was unaware until recently that this movie is actually based on a series of short stories written by Steven King under his pseudonym, Richard Bachman. I never really understood why Steven decided to do that. I bet that information is out there.

Anyway, this film pretty much embodies what all Schwarzenegger films were like back in the 80's although I will say that this one is likely a bit more over the top than most of the others. SPOILER ALERT! Arnold eventually wins in this one too, but the method in which he wins by winning over the crowd is particularly whimsical.

I personally find this movie entertaining because it is so ridiculous, but back in 1987 I enjoyed it because Schwarzenegger was pretty much every boy's idol at the time. The fact that this movie was meant to take place in the distant future - the year 2017, makes it even more fun. However, i am not going to give this movie high marks just based on my own nostalgia

6 / 10

Sort:  

Perhaps the main drawback of the film is its ending. Too much pathos, from which distorts. However, if we discard it, we will get a very high quality and dynamic film with an excellent soundtrack, conveying the atmosphere of the times. Moreover, the most important thing is that when viewing a picture you believe in what is shown, there is no props. The society of the future is a crowd with base desires and lack of will, from which the totalitarian regime sculpts everything that it pleases; bifurcation of society on dirty ragged workers and oligarchs with retinue sycophants; the absolute power of omnipotent television that controls the minds of people; brutal game in the spirit of time with brutal heroes. All this, in my opinion, creates the atmosphere and the main highlight of the film, plus the great game of the great actor, without which the film would have lost exactly half.

a lot of big words in there, but yes, you are correct :)

Loved almost all Arnolds movies back in the day. You're totally right though, now I only Imagine how ridiculous they were

Just yesterday this movie was broadcast on television, I saw it for a few minutes.

I thought that this movie was based on the novel "The Long Walk" because of bad advice given to me, I ended up buying and reading the book, and then I knew that it was not, the book on which the film is based is The Running Man, that is, it carries the same name, a very silly confusion on my part. Great review, by the way. Yes, Schwarzenegger was a very charismatic character for the youth of that moment.

Yes, sometimes I watch my favorite movies at a young age. Although a little less skill but it still makes me fascinated at that time.

Lolzz😂. this movie in every respect should have gotten at least a 75. especially with today's society (it takes place last year and it ironically isn't too far from the truth). most of the negative reviews revolve around the whole "macho man" theme of Schwarzenegger which isn't really present. in fact Arnold is the underdog he isn't John Matrix in this movie and his kill count is lower than his usual in his movies. Arnold plays a man named Ben Richards who was framed for police brutality when he refused to kill unarmed civilians and is forced to play a death game to survive. the scenarios are similar but the new powers of each stalker are different and have more interesting ways to try and kill the hero. it still has a lot of the action cliche's of the 1980's but that's okay because it is a 1980's action movie and those cliche's are still entertaining. on the outside it's a dumb action movie but in retrospective it's an anti-establishment feature. my only regret is that Arnold's acting is even worse than usual but it is still a fun movie that i would recommend to anyone.

Wow 😲 a very cool movie, it's a good movie and includes my favorite film, I hope you also watch this film and feel what I feel when watching, I'm happy and so do you I hope 😊

Wow 😲 a very cool movie, it's a good movie and includes my favorite film, I hope you also watch this film and feel what I feel when watching, I'm happy and so do you I hope 😊

I do like Arnold. He was my role model.
I didn’t particularly like this movie.

Arnold has always been my inspiration. watching his film is always interesting. This film was amazing. i had watched it only once. keep flourishing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98