You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Pixels (film) : not great but Sandler still makes money

in #films5 years ago

You know, I had always heard absolutely awful things about this movie but it was streaming free last year and because I did enjoy the short film this was based on decided to give it a shot.

Somehow it was worse than I expected.

First, I could care less how much a movie makes. Sandler has been telling the same core story for years and I'm tired of it. Oh cool, another film where he plays an emotionally stunted man child who grows up slightly over the film and ends up with a girl way outside of his league. Cool.

But I can deal with another predictable and forgettable Adam Sandler movie, but there was something conceptually offensive with this movie that left me feeling... I don't know quite how to say it. How about this. I felt like this was a studio cash grab cynically aimed at cashing in on video game nostalgia without having either respect for what they were cashing in on. It's ambivalent to its source material. It's lazy. No one looks like they are having fun. Instead of telling a joke, they just go "hey, you like PacMan right? Well there he is!" It's a movie so lazy, cynical, and unfunny the only movie I feel is close to its unique brand of awfulness is The Emoji Movie.

Oh, and Josh Gad falls in love with Q-Bert. Sexually.

I like your scoring system, I give Pixels as score of "my quarter got stuck in the arcade machine and now I want a refund."

Sort:  

Your review is better than mine lol. I like the quarter getting stuck reference too.

There was nothing particularly good about this film other than the nostalgia. I think if it was playing in the background and you were doing something else also at the time it would probably serve its purpose best just like that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59179.00
ETH 2969.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75