19 films that made an impression on mesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #films5 years ago (edited)

On my other social media, Diaspora, there has been a game where you for 20 days post an image from a film that made a lasting impression. I have not thought much about what I choose, just piced one every day. But it is still intersting to see what I did pick!

Not much comedy, but that is maybe because one tends to get in a solemn mood when doing such lists. The unifying thing I can see in these films is that they are very visual.

I still need one last film... What should I choose to end this list?

Sort:  

Starts with Bladerunner, right? Then, Fritz Lang's non-metropolis film. Do I see an Evil Dead in there? And the animated LOTR, by mr Bakshi - I've made the greek subtitles for this one, there was no greek version until then :) I've not seen Ghost in the Shell, but I still remember Akira that is one anime that made a huge impression on me. Vertigo and Hellraiser together... well you were always the weird one, but Independence Day on top of them!!

I would also put Rosemary's Baby in the list. And Alien (the 1st one from 1979). And so many others... I'll try to do a similar list with photos, it is an excellent idea and challenge for the readers!

Yes, right on all accounts. I loved Independence Day for its images, actually most of these films are for the images. Aliens Is a film I love and Polanski too. The best scene in rosemarys baby is the last where they shout "hail Satan!" That was swell.

Maybe we should find a tag... #film20 for example (you can't have numbers in the beginning of a tag.. 20films would have been better).

Ralph Bakshi?




Lord of the Rings - I sort of remember some of it, and it looks like his style. It was unfinished, as far as I remember.

I just seen the movie "Der Trafikant" (The Tobacconist) and was very impressed (I read the novel). It is in German of course (a Austrian film) so I don't know if it is dubbed or else subtitled.

https://cineuropa.org/en/video/rdID/361216/f/t/

1538860189074.jpg

Here is the trailer, in German:

Yes Bakshi! There was no sequel to this excellent animation, at least by Bakshi: another team of creators published the Return of the KIng animation, as a supposed sequel. The same team had also made the Hobbit. Their style is totally cartoonish though, and cannot be compared to Bakshi's nightmarish unique style.

I have made the greek subtitles for Bakshi's film! :)

I seen the Hobbit cartoon, but not the "sequel" - and I agree. It was aimed at 6 year olds.

It is indeed, but @nyarlathitep beat me to it. I will see if I can somehow track down Der Trafikant.

It is a Austrian film that just recently premiered here, so it might take a little time before it gets dubbed (or subtitled) and released elsewhere. Hope they do, I thoroughly enjoyed it, particularly after having read the novel. There are some great surreal dream sequences. It is rather dark, but so were the times 1938. It holds a mirror to the Austrian myth that "Hitler invaded us" - no, they were enthusiastically embracing it, and those that opposed them were brutalized. I know also about it because of the tales of my grandfather, who was a freedom fighter against Nazism.

I understand German, not a great speaker though. And in Denmark we always have subtitles. We are too small a country to have your films dubbed. So I prefer to see films with the original soundtrack.

same in Sweden, and yes, I prefer the original - there are some theaters in Vienna where you can see them. Because the German accent dubbed over English films is often annoying, mind you, not as bad as John Wayne dubbed over in Japanese, lmao

When I was seven I moved to Fyn, where you could see the three German channels. When we played Cowboys and Indians the local said, händerhoch! I was baffled. When I now see a film with German dubbing it gives me a certain melancholic feeling. I also lived in Italy for a year in my youth and it was both hilarious and educative to see films in Italien. The worst dubbings I have heard are actually the English. They are so used to not having to do it that they do the worst job of them all.

in English, that is so true - but even English movies, when they try to insert German to make their films sound more "authentic" the "German" they use sounds more like the Swedish Chef on the Muppet show.
I seen some war movies where they showed German scenes that had me facepalm.
Which makes me wonder: how hard would it be to get a real German voice actor to supply those lines?

Not to mention the special German (and French) Hollywood accent to signal that the English speaking actor is supposed to be speaking German (or French).

The Brits made a whole TV series based on these stupid dialects.

That's a fun idea! Mine would probably me more on the lighter side ;-)

Yes, I enjoy light film too, and never took the darker ones too serious... with the exception of "Walk and see," the one with the stork, they all are humorous... in their own way. As I wrote I think that such lists are terrible and I never did intend to make a hierarchy out of it (I hate lists as this one).

One the one hand, these lists are a lot of fun, but you're correct -- they're pretty much meaningless. The Rolling Stone list continually gets sillier because they update it -- their first Top 100 list from 2007 looked like this:
1Jimi Hendrix
2 Duane Allman
3 B.B. King
4 Eric Clapton
5 Robert Johnson
6 Chuck Berry
7 Stevie Ray Vaughan
8 Ry Cooder
9 Jimmy Page
10 Keith Richards

For blues/rock guitarists at least the first nine arefairly solid picks.

But yeah, its silly. I've done a few lists on AAJ, one was "Top 10 Guitarist We Lost Too Soon" which I prefaced this way:

Ranking musicians is a hopelessly flawed endeavor. It's about as meaningful as having a list of the top ten best tasting foods. Taste is highly individualized, influenced by mood, familiarity, and the way in which multiple variables interact. One person's escargot is someone else's slice of Chicago style pizza. I just took a break and searched the web for the top ten best tasting foods, and of course CNN has tackled this difficult issue. Potato chips, Peking Duck, and buttered popcorn made their list, but sadly my grandmother's blackberry cobbler and cornbread baked in an iron skillet didn't. That's the nature of such lists, they're fun but certainly not definitive. My list below should been seen in that light.

To narrow it down, any guitarist who reached the age of fifty was excluded from consideration. That eliminated two of my personal favorites, Ronny Jordan and Hiram Bullock, who otherwise would have been on my list. Even with that I still couldn't find room for Robert Johnson, or Mike Bloomfield, another one of my all time favorite guitarists. The list is not intended as a ranking, my selections are simply arranged according to the age each guitarist reached.

But I must admit, people seem to enjoy lists, this one got over 86,000 views -- lot different than my posts here ;-)

Peking Duck, and buttered popcorn! That is funny - of course taste is also just as unifying as it is is separating us. So the lists have that function.

I think my animosity against such lists is because I don't share the hierarchical way of viewing our existence - the same reason, I believe, others like these lists so much: They bring order - but not truth.

There is also the fact that none of us know. I could look at Sophia Loren or Beatrice Dalle or Audrey Hepburn or Marilyn Monroe all day, but the most beautiful girl is probably in a baker shop in Belarus or is a hair dresser in Lagos. The best blues is played on a porch somewhere.

So as a general pointer to how a certain persons taste is composed, I think they can be fine. When some authority like Rolling Stones or the Danish State does it I am much less enthusiastic :)

Genau richtig :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99