Quick update on Finallycomments - v0.7.1

finally.jpg

Steemconnect disallowed loading via iframe, see PR on Github. I’ve updated the Finallycomments iframe to open a popup instead. On successful authentication with Steemconnect the original iframe will reload and the popup window will close. This is standard practice for 0Auth in this situation and will feel familiar if you’ve used Twitter sign-in/tweet from an external site or similar etc.

This is an important security update for Steemconnect. It reduces the chance someone could maliciously use the Steemconnect auth process to Phish sensitive info.

The sign-in flow isn’t quite as nice as before but there is not another option.

Updates

I’ll be working on more updates to finally in the near future. Most likely guest comments first then i’ll look at working towards a Wordpress plugin.

Let me know if there are any issues or requests. 🚀

p.s thanks to @reazuliqbal for fixing a ‘typo’ (aka a variable name that would have caused issues later down the line) in the Finally repo. 👊

Sort:  

With WordPress plugin it would be one of most sought after projects on Steem Blockchain. I am learning from you. Keep up the good work.

Thanks mate! I do hope the WordPress plugin allows people to use finally more easily. I think it has great potential if people knew about it/it was easier to use.

Hey I know it's not the right post to comment but I did not find your Discord id. I have a small issue with your statistics responder bot, sometimes the steemit api gives a 504 error and the bot crashes and it needs to be restarted to work again. Is there a way to make the bot restart automatically each time an error appears or if the did not find a new post in the last 10 seconds, restart? Thanks in advance.

I will try to add a picture here with the error once it happens again, but it's 504 related.

To be honest I'm still not sure 100% on the best approach here. The stats bot was just an example for the tutorial and by no way intended to be a bulletproof approach.

The best I've come up with so far is to check if there is an error inside the of the stream callback, if so exit the process and have forever restart the node process. I'm certian there is a better way though

Any chance you can help me on that part? Maybe you can make it as an update for that and post via utopian?
Here's a pic of the error

pic.PNG

Sorry I had forgotten this tutorial was based on the browser. Working in the browser is primarily for learning, this really needs to run as a server-side process. I'm not sure it's viable to have it restart effectively in the browser.

I can add a step-by-step 'always on' tutorial to the list but I have a very long list. I have many projects to work on so I won't be able to work on this for you in any short amount of time, sorry.

No problem, thank you for your time, I found a small solution for now, refresh the page when the script gets an error, I'll start learning javascript, it should not be that hard since I've worked a little with C#, C, C++. Thank you for your tutorials I'll stat from there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62513.70
ETH 2949.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60