When I tried PHP 50 Savings Challenge

in #finance6 years ago

A girl claimed to save more than PHP 42,000 in 5 months, through PHP 50. How did she do it?


   Around the second week of February, I came across a YouTube video about a girl named Yona Abella, who was featured in a famous TV show “Jessica Soho” here in the Philippines, aired May 21, 2017. She admitted that she was a shopaholic and  only realized the importance of saving when her grandma got sick, challenged herself that every time she received PHP50.00 change, she will not allow herself to spend it, as if its invisible.   

Image Source

  I’ve never seen heaps and heaps of PHP50.00 in my life! I was so amazed that she was able to collect 846 pieces of PHP 50 in just 5 months. That’s PHP 42,300.00, amazing right?!  

 I want to give it a try since I love challenges and my current situation requires me to save.
 

SO, MY 50 PESO IPON CHALLENGE BEGINS!

 Right after watching the video I hurriedly checked my wallet if there's any PHP50.00, I was so happy when I saw 3 pieces of PHP50.00 bills. I called the attention of my kids and told them about the challenge because I want them to be involved and learn the importance of saving. 

 At first I was not receiving PHP50.00 bill that much, perhaps it's because I was just staying at home. As the days go by, every time I received a PHP50.00 bill we are so excited and it gives more fun to the challenge.      

WHEN I FAILED!! 

 My kids and I went to my friend’s house, since I’m on a tight budget I only have PHP1,300.00 in my wallet and the invisible bills. We rode a taxi to the bus terminal and guess what?

 It was, as if the universe was conspiring against me, I’m not really sure if I would be happy as the driver pulled red bills from his wallet, because I know that the remaining other bills on my wallet was not enough. I managed to reach @ryl ‘s home, I was thinking of ways to hold on to my invisible money by going to the nearest ATM machine, which is by the way, really far from them. 

We stayed there for several days and I was really craving for an empanada and we planned of making one, so I have no choice but to give in to my cravings. LOL

I counted how much invisible money I used and promised to replace it, and I did. I am proud to say, that it never happened again. 

I started February 15, 2018 that’s almost 2 months, as of today I got 76 pieces!!!  That’s PHP 3,800!!! I will try to continue doing this challenge for half a year, let’s see how much I will save.  

 




OTHER AMAZING BLOGGERS:

@ryl @sarahdandridge @evlachsblog


Thanks to #steemitschool for the free live classes!!


  Be part of Steemit School! All you got to do is to join our discord channel: https://discordapp.com/invite/FG6ZF8K


My Goal is to reach 500 followers. So if you enjoyed the article and looking forward for more feel free to follow me.

@dangerousangel

Thanks for your time! Tata!!

April 8, 2018

Post #37


Sort:  

lol
great
I thought you are talking about php programming language :P

Lol i dont know a thing with programing language 😅😅

Hahaha php eh 😂

Ahhh yoko talaga ng challenge challenge kaka-stress hahaha 😂 basta save ko lang Steemit rewards as Steem Power yun lang challenge ko sa sarili ko 😅

Ginagawa ko din yan pgsave ng sbd and sp ko :) meron pa kong isusulat piso challenge nmn na tinatry ko hahahhaha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61185.89
ETH 2933.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68