You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Problem With Bitcoin Is You

in #finance6 years ago

I think of Steemit as a true proof of concept for crypto. It shows that a cryptocurrency can be tied to "real" work and real world value, and that it can power a project in ways that wouldn't have been possible without it. My Bitcoin is staying right where it is in its wallet. If it appreciates in value one day or becomes liquid in its own right, great. If not, then no big deal. I believe that crypto is here to stay. It might not ever have that enormous bull run, but maybe it will. I don't measure Bitcoin's value in terms of dollars, and I don't stress about what it's doing relative to the dollar. If I can say that I'm motivated at all by that, it's mostly in the sense that it represents a dream for me. I don't expect that I'll make money off of what crypto I have, but I know that as long as it's there, it's a possibility. It's not really a gamble and not really an investment; it's something inbetween.

Sort:  

I'm totally with you on the utility of Steemit! It's a major inspiration for this article.
I also can see plenty of shades of grey between gambling and investing. I almost got into it in the piece, but it was already long enough.

I would like to see my crypto (including STEEM) as an investment, and I do if I consider returns in the form of experience, learning, confidence. Financial return would help a lot, though.

You will receive a share of the bounty in 2 days. I have upvoted each comment on this post proportionately to how much you engaged me, made me think, or made me smile.

Feel free to upvote your comment and others' as well. Your votes determine 20% of the bounty.

If your vote is valued at less than $0.03, I recommend the @dustsweeper service. Dustsweeper votes will not affect the bounty, but will ensure the 1 and 2 cent votes you receive are actually paid to both you and your upvoter.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63010.40
ETH 3137.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85