Do You Rent or Own Your Property?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #finance6 years ago

Hello Fellow Steemians!

I would like to ask one question:

Do you own your home or are you renting?

Right now I'm renting an apartment close to work and I'm considering another job that's farther away. So, my first thought is "hey, I should probably look into a place closer by so I don't have to commute!"

For me, the flexibility of renting trumps any desire I have to buy a house or a condo. I can't imagine my life being tied down to any property, or even going through the process of selling my home, paying penalties to break a mortgage early or waiting out the remainder of my term, it seems ludicrous!

I can understand however how some people like it; especially if you're trying to raise a family it would make a lot of sense.

I know some people buy property as an investment, but from the research I've done the appreciation of property value in the majority of locations matches very closely with returns you would make in the market, and even still you're safer on the market due to diversification. Maybe I'm wrong about this, but that's why I want to hear from you.

Do you rent or own? Why? Thanks in advance for any responses!

© CC0 Creative Commons - Pixabay on Pexels.com
Sort:  

I would invest in a condo if I had money. I know the housing market is only going to get more insane.

But for the moment, I don't have enough saved so I'm going to rent out the cheapest thing I can find.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61906.25
ETH 2905.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64