Credit card vs Debit card

in #finance6 years ago

Hi friends,

I recently happened to be in this situation where the debit card I used (almost never) expired and I was not able to money from the ATM. I know it was might fault for getting it expired, in fact the other debit card I had from the same bank expired 2 years ago. I had to go and request it to the bank which seems so old school. Let me try to explain how I got into this situation on the first place.

So I have 2 accounts in the same bank, one which I created more than 5 years ago and then this one from the company I work for, the latter was required to get income there, this practice might not be the same on other countries but stay put the story is quite long.

IMG_20180914_155545.jpg

Over a year ago, when me and my wife decided to grow roots in the land and now house we've build I have to build up my credit record which was not bad at all but asking a loan in a country backed bank they might want you to switch to them which was not actually possible for my salary being deposited in the first bank that from now on we will call the ABC bank.

I had a couple of credit cards in ABC bank which were easily obtained by just calling them. Private banks are always more than happy to hook you up with a low rate credit card.

Most of them start at a 25% up to a 60% anual rate

I had 2 credit cards and just to be fancy I had a platinum and gold both Credomatic. Anyways, I'm saying that they were delivered to my house or office and never expired before getting a newer one.
When I started to build up the credit record I got rid off them and cancel both. I never paid interests on them but I did not use or earned much points/miles or cashback. I used pretty much all the benefit systems they had to offered.

After a while of getting use to pay in cash or using the money i had on the debit card I never worried about the expiration dates. To my surprised someone at the gas station told me that my debit card was expired. So I called the ABC Bank because my card was not generated and it expired. They told me if I wanted it fast I had to go directly to the office, the guy said same day I will get new card. I went to the office and the lady told me that card was not auto generated for some weird reason, then when I asked if I was going to get right away she told me that debit cards took 3 business days, on the other hand she offered me a credit hard that was just ready to go and I said no. I requested the debit card.
After that situation, next day I called again to have the card delivered to my house as they use to do and to my surprise debit cards are not delivered just credit cards.
It is so bad that they treat me this way just because I'm very financial aware and discipline that it is harder to get debit card, on the other hand if you are just throwing money away they will offer you all this benefits even tho that you might not be a good payer.

Sort:  

Sorry to hear about your trouble with the bank, this is the problem with banks and this is why cryptocurrency will have a massive impact. People are sick of being ripped off and treated poorly by banks.

Exactly I don't know why I'm not treated equally just because of not owning a credit card

Had similar issues when I had bankruptcy. Sooo easy to get credit cards...they want to enslave you with fees, late charges, and crazy interest rates. I would say that it's harder to live in cash than credit. Cant get loans for house, car, or business without it.

Hi @raserrano!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.569 which ranks you at #5813 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 51 places in the last three days (old rank 5762).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 429 contributions, your post is ranked at #332.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • You have already convinced some users to vote for your post, keep trying!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00