You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Problem With Bitcoin Is You

in #finance6 years ago

Whenever there is innovation there is always an acceptance gap. Is the new tech going to be the next big thing or a flop? Which tech should get my money? In an environment built partially on confidence, the timidity of the mob mentality can be both defining of the situation and inhibitting to acceptance. Its not until a tipping point is reached where the early adopters are percieved as the proof of value to the general populace that will lead to mass adoption and acceptance. We are the vanguard and I dont know what the tipping point will be, but I have a feeling its not distant in the future. I am old enough to remember when text messaging was a novelty that no one was going to use! But as services become readily available and reliable and early adopters proved its worth, now it is a prolific form of communication that we lived without 20 years ago! We are experiencing fintech Darwinism at the moment square within the acceptance gap, waiting for the tipping point. Thanks for the article @wholeself-in, it really got me thinking!

Sort:  

I agree, we are right at the edge of what will eventually be mainstream.
I remember thinking cameras on phones were silly, but I had 2 generations of "handheld computers" in 2003-5 before technology caught up and combined all those functions into a phone.
I think whatever emerges will not quite look or act like what we are using today, though the roots of that thing already exist.

You will receive a share of the bounty in 2 days. I have upvoted each comment on this post proportionately to how much you engaged me, made me think, or made me smile.

Feel free to upvote your comment and others' as well. Your votes determine 20% of the bounty.

If your vote is valued at less than $0.03, I recommend the @dustsweeper service. Dustsweeper votes will not affect the bounty, but will ensure the 1 and 2 cent votes you receive are actually paid to both you and your upvoter.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63212.56
ETH 3233.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88