You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: THE SIMPLE WAYS OF GOD: FINANCES: Part 2 – TAX DEDUCTIONS - A Book From @narrowminded Released EXCLUSIVELY on STEEMIT

in #finances7 years ago

Great stuff (as usual)! If John the Baptist had the 1st Amendment, he'd still have his head! Your quote from Matthew 6 is my favorite part of the Bible, from there all the way to the Lord's Prayer...great advice (also about "When ye pray...") There's also another passage that tells us- whatever you give ye shall receive tenfold (or something like that- I'm probably the worst Biblical scholar). You notice in Matthew when Jesus says to do your "alms" in secret, he's not saying give to the church, I think, but to help one another on a personal basis. One reason that Jesus came to us is because "the church" had failed to meet its obligation and begun to emulate the political structure of Rome. I wrote a piece on this: The Failure of Institutional Remedies: The Philosophy of Jesus Christ.

Sort:  

I think in the New Testament, the "alms" were for "the church", but the church was not a building or paid clergy, "the church" was the believers who had needs. My how things have changed.

I agree...One definition for church I found is...a group of people who share similar beliefs. Maybe somebody should share that passage with Joel Osteen!

I probably shouldn't be judgemental, but I wouldn't want to be standing next to him in a lightning storm!

Nothing wrong with being wise!

It's hard to see a group - church - build a $25 million building - like that is a good use of $ when they should be out investing that money into people. Things have changed.

I consider that to be storing up treasures upon the earth, when they should be laying up treasures in heaven.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71077.17
ETH 3807.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.47