You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Finish The Story Contest - WEEK #30! | The Last Stand

in #finishthestory6 years ago (edited)

I like your turnaround. I'm not a fan of heroic battles. I think too many young people are entranced by the notion of heroic war and become fodder for leaders who need fighters. However, there is a time to fight. To defend family. To defend home. And this characterizes the nobility of a battle such as you have described. I loved your essay at the end and am forthwith going to look up the Battle of Tirad Pass. Best part about Steemit is there is no cultural filter--we get perspectives from all over the world. As a history buff, I am delighted by this.

Edit:
I found this well-written article The Philippine Thermopylae at Tirad Pass
Does this correspond to the way the episode is recalled in the Philippines?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.66
ETH 3148.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84