You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My ending to The Enchanted Café - Finish the Story contest @bananafish

in #finishthestory5 years ago

There is very interesting, personal emotions outweighing greater responsibilities every time. There is something game like about the rebirth aspect, but it actually reminds me an anime i watched recently, and i can't help but wonder, if this repetition is purgatory or possibility VR, a test of sorts he just can't pass. Was Francis really an angel? This is written with a lot of space for it to have a deeper meaning, especially given the unanswered question Matt poses just before Sasha walks in. Here are some of my favorite theories

  1. the surface level: Matt died by giving the entire operation away to Sasha, and getting agents killed, Francis is an angel, and trying to pull those heavenly strings and force Matt to behave differently, but can only reset the time line so many times.

  2. slightly deeper: Matt died in the same circumstances, and Francis is an angel, but this is purgatory, and the fate of the world doesn't actually rest of what he does, but that is more metaphorical, the angel wanting Matt to chose to do 'the right thing'

  3. wading all the way in: this is a game, Matt is the player, and this is his last life. A game where your decisions along the way affect the choices you get in the future, Matt has been returning to his latest save point again and again to try and progress further, but he can't figure out the right choice here, and just keeps dying, thus 'technically' dead, and the agent and the angel being the same person.

  4. off the wall a little: Matt has been kidnapped by Sasha's handler, because she does really love him, he has been drugged, and this is an induced experience. Thus how the angel is the same person as the agent. Sasha needs Matt to chose to trust her despite everything the agent gives him every single time. "We were only given twenty chances. If you can't get it right this time, the consequences could be catastrophic, not just for you, but for the whole world" which makes this a very different statement, and the possibility of this being counterspy recruitment throws a wonderful spotlight on the whole 'one mans terrorist is another's freedom fighter' perspective.

  5. the full on out there but maybe on point: None of this is real, Matt has applied for a job as a spy and this is the final interview, the whole experience is simulated, Francis (possibly the person who thinks Matt would be good for the job) has given him as many chances as he can to pass, and really wants him to get the job, feeling like Matt has the skills, if only he had the discretion

I had so much fun reading this, and thinking about the different ways it could be interpreted, although appreciate your intention was probably more a straight spy thriller with heavenly intervention than any of my crackpot theories ;) I just really enjoyed thinking about this one!

Very glad you managed to get this one in at the last minute, an ending packed with possibility, thank you!

Sort:  

<<<<3333 ~Okay can we have an award for prompt writers engaging in the community and fostering dialogue already! Because this comment is so jammed pack with high quality commenting that this count as its own speculation/analysis post, in fact all of yer comments!!!!~ <<<<3333

(Also see my reply to @theironfelix for the part about you guys commenting on all of the writer's stories. It really is great, and thank you.)

I love that my story has invoked these many theories. For most of my life I have never been much of a reader. for me it was always watching television growing up. It is where I saw most of my storytelling, rather than in a book. Many of my favorite shows (see my Twilight Zone portion of the other comment as well) told stories in a similar way that allow the viewer/reader to see different angles even though they are all watching/reading the same thing. To me those are the stories I usually enjoy the most, which I guess is why I write that way. I haven't written much to this point, but definitely see the pattern emerging. lol

Now your list of theories -

I did purposely leave it open to decide how Matt reacted after each restart. Did he let his heart win out and tell Sasha each time? Did he not say a word to her, but having this new knowledge was not able to cover up his nervousness to the point that Sasha, the trained spy picked up on it and had to protect herself once she felt something was off? Or perhaps, he told her about his encounter with Francis, forgives her and wants to help her get out of this mess, only to lead the agents in the corner to get spooked and start the shootout which kills Matt?

I love the other angles you come up with though. Each one could easily extend the story out in very different ways. I think in some way the purgatory angle was present in my mind, but the other three were not. The gaming one is especially intriguing. I definitely also like the angle where Sasha fell for Matt even though he was simply a means to her plans end, and now she is trying to bring him in so she doesn't lose him.

I am very happy you liked my story, and really do feel your comment actually makes the story better. It also makes me feel great knowing that it invoked these ideas from someone who writes much more than I do. Makes me think perhaps I have a chance at being good at this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68145.39
ETH 3732.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65