Sort:  

Sorry! I didn't get it...

I know sometimes favors could be difficult... Please, explain

Obviously, the older Matt told his younger "I" a bitter truth. A kind of awakening shocking reality. My interpretation is that this experience was a lesson in self-awareness for the young frightened Matt. Hopefully he will initiate a change after this encounter. After all, you don't meet yourself every day. The kind of favor was really not very gentle and the statements of the older Matt quite painful. Nevertheless, it was a favor, wasn't it?

You are right. The words from the older Matt did change the life of younger Matt since at the end older Matt disappeared. But I wouldn't call it a favor. Because of the concept of the word favor:

Act that is done to help, please or provide a service to a person for kindness, friendship or affection.

I think is more than an obligation or necessity instead of favor, don't you think?

It depends what the older Matt had in mind. Did he appear in order to help or to ridicule and insult his younger self?

Yes, your word definition is correct. But would you have paid less (irritated) attention to my comment if I had used the correct term?

I am married to what is called "systemic thinking" that I also consider a - on the outside - less friendly way of giving someone a wake-up moment of realization to be a "favor". Most of the time, the favor is even more noticeable when there is a moment or time of irritation, shock, and even pain. The most important thing, however, is the intention of the person - from the inside - doing the favor: if there was a benevolent intention behind Matts words, if he had the intention to motivate his younger self to change, then I would still speak of a favor, using the freedom of "abusing" terms. If the older Matt's intention to the younger Matt was of malicious intent - which I so far doubted, however, because, why should you be evil minded towards yourself? - then it would not be a favor but what I said above: an angry impulse.

But then the plot would make less sense to me as why would an angry older Matt leave his timeline? Wouldn't that be a waste of energy?

But maybe I am missing something, that can very well be, as I am not an English native.

Hi! I didn't see your comment early. Sorry.

You are quite right. I guess sometimes you have to slap people in their face to make them react. And, yes, Older Matt's intention was benevolent.

What's your native language? Mine is Spanish. May I guess... German?

Hallo! (I'm just using google translator but I know a couple of words in German)

Can I ask a question? Why your words are sooo looong!??? (I'm joking... but, seriously, why?)

BTW, I recently watch Dark Nextflix series. It was marvelous. And I think it's a German series. An excellent series. I recommend it to you

Thanks for your comment.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63236.79
ETH 3280.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85