You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Battle of Bloodneck Valley - Finish The Story Contest, Week #30

This is perhaps the most pessimistic ending, but also one of those that I liked best for the balance and ownership of the language in which it is written. The figure of Yog-Sothoth is more faithful to what should be a Lovecraftian Great Old Ones: an inhuman entity to be avoided rather than to be venerated. I love the details about the physiology of the orcs!

Sort:  

But Marco this is wonderful! Don't be so balanced in your comments... he was the only one to picture Yog-Sothoth as it should be.. even better.

Thanks @marcoriccardi! :D I've noticed that dealings with cosmic entities usually bring torment, insanity, death, and destruction, sometimes on an apocalyptic scale. Since the orcs were already facing annihilation, I thought it would be interesting for them to invoke Yog-Sothoth as a kind of last-ditch Doomsday weapon.

After reading your comment, I did some research and I realized I'd made a mistake in referring to Yog-Sothoth as an Old One. It's been a few years since I read those stories! :) I've changed a couple of phrases in the text to more accurately reflect Yog-Sothoth's standing within the Mythos. Thanks again for the comment and also for your point about the Great Old Ones! Both are very much appreciated!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63572.52
ETH 3097.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88