Gone Swimming

in #finland5 years ago

EDA5E30E-CA62-4C1F-8DD0-5973DFA00607.jpeg

We have this saying in Finnish, heittää talviturkki pois, which roughly translates to throw away your winter fur. It means to go swimming for the first time after the winter, and I threw mine away today!

I googled and the water temperature in the lake was about 15 degrees Celsius, air temp hovering around 28 degrees. It was soooo hot today, that I really needed to go swimming, and boy did it feel great! After I whined at the knee deep water for 5 minutes before plunging in.

3822BEA0-EFFF-4C1A-A4B9-1D431E098A3B.jpeg

Have you thrown away your winter fur yet?

Sort:  

I got chills just looking at this! haha I hate cold water and usually just jump right in if I need to lol <3

Im always a jump right in guy, cant stand wading in slowly.
Its refreshing just cannonball it bellyflop or whateve!!🤠

I can’t do it, I’m such a pussy!

We have about 2 weeks of winter. It’s a shock when we travel to places with seasons.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hahaha yeah you don’t get to throw away your winter fur, you don’t have one!

Oh, so the weather seems to be quite nice in Finland at the moment.

Posted using Partiko Android

It’s been absolutely perfect for several days, here is to hoping it lasts!

Pshhhh! You need to do a cannon ball in that! 😬

Posted using Partiko iOS

Not ladylike!

Says the girl who wore a camo cap all day.

You know what? Just do a belly flop next time 😉

Posted using Partiko iOS

not yet, but i'll throw it away next thursday!! 😁😉

Posted using Partiko Android

😂😂😂 that was cool 👍👍👍

Posted using Partiko Android

I bet its cold as iron but anyway we need to swim thats where we all came from...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63746.34
ETH 3048.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97