Tullin Sauna & Bistro - Tampere, Finland

in #finland5 years ago (edited)

IMG_20190406_132620.jpg
All photos: CC BY-SA 4.0 - Insaneworks

In the heart of Tampere, there's a restaurant called Tullin Sauna. (literal translation: the sauna of toll) It's located just few steps from the main campus of Tampere University, the railway station and Tampere Hall where you can find several concerts, exhibitions and happenings all year round. I addition of incredible food, Tullin Sauna has a public sauna where you can go any time the place is open. Tullin Sauna also offers accommodation (co-operation with Dream Hostel & Hotel) for weary travelers and workspace for those who only need a table, a place to sit, perhaps a conference room and access to the internet.

IMG_20190406_132650.jpg

The weekend brunch prices are average Finnish and Tampere 2019 prices. 25€ / person. Thou, you get to eat as much as you want, and the food is not something that most home cooks could come up with. Salad, soup, main course, desert and coffee / tee with some biscuits or candy if you still have any space left in your stomach.

IMG_20190406_132029.jpg

Tullin Sauna of course has a menu for supper time, but if you are in Tampere at a normal weekday, I definitely recommend that you go and eat there during the lunch hours from 11:00 to 14:00. The same quality, cheaper price than the weekend brunch. Again 10€ / person is a normal 2019 Tampere city centre price for a lunch, but as you get to eat as much as you can and the food so good that you wish you could eat at least three times more than you actually can, and then some more, it absolutely is worth it.

IMG_20190406_132249.jpg

I have eaten there three times and all of those times the food was excellent. Perhaps even beyond excellent. My only excuse in not providing you actual food photos before I ate, is that the food just was so irresistible. I didn't want the warm food to get cold and I just couldn't wait. The reindeer-cheese soup was so velvety smooth, the ever so slightly burned potato slices so crispy and the cognac-caramel mousse so tasty, that I only managed to take photos of what was left.

IMG_20190406_131039_abc.jpg

I am not picky with food because I want to or because I just don't like something. Sure there are some ingredients that I avoid because I don't like them, don't we all have something on that list, but everything else, I sure do like to eat! Or would, if I could. My stomach can't handle wheat, barley, oat or rye. Not even a tiniest bit. So malt is also a no-no, which is a pity because I sure liked dark beers and also dark bread that is very common in Finland. But that was before. Way back then. In my previous life. Now even thou I'm not picky, my stomach is. So when I go to a restaurant, I always check out first if their menu has any gluten free portions. And although I really should ask them if it's also oat free, the G in the menu is a good hint that there also isn't any oat in it. And usually that's the case. At least in the main courses. Pies and deserts that have any kind of dough in it, I always ask first, if I decide to try them.

So every time I go to a new place, which I try to avoid if I also have to do something important after that, like go to work, I take my chances whit the G. The meal either is wheat-barley-oat-rye free or it is not. Within a half an hour I will know it if some jerk has cut the ingredients with ever so slightly wheat flour covered knife or covered the naturally gluten free food with it-doesn't-matter-if-I-sprinkle-this-wheat-flour-all-over-the-kitchen-because-that-customer-has-a-bad-case-of-hypochondria-nothing-else-going-on-there attitude.

You can trust in Tullin Sauna. The G in their menu really means that it doesn't have gluten in it. And apparently no oats too. I've tried it and my stomach stayed happy and pleased. And terribly full for a long time after the meal.

Check out the lunch menu or the brunch options, pick a day and go there. I'm hereby answering the one and only, most important question that any business and restaurant owner should ever ask anyone who has been / is a customer of theirs.
Would I recommend this place to anyone?
Yes I definitely would! To everyone!

#recommendation #tullinsauna #photography

!steemitworldmap 61.495974 lat 23.778477 long Tullin Sauna & Bistro - Tampere, Finland d3scr
translateenfi.png

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=insaneworks
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=tullin-sauna-and-bistro-tampere-finland


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Again 10€ / person is a normal 2019 Tampere city centre price for a lunch, but as you get to eat as much as you can and the food so good that you wish you could eat at least three times more than you actually can, and then some more, it absolutely is worth it.

10€ is a very standard price for buffet lunch which is pretty good value. One of my favorite hobbies is to eat as much as I can to get a better bang for the buck. When I was on the cycling trip I went to great lengths to achieve this by drinking as much water as I could 5-6 hours earlier before eating, to stretch the stomach.

You can probably see that I agree with your sentiment.

Mut kaikista parasta (en jaksa enää enkkua :D) on saada safka ilmaiseksi suorittamalla ruokahaaste + sain mun nimen samalle kunniataululle Jesse Pynnösen kanssa :D

Posted using Partiko Android

Jee! Täytyy kyllä myöntää tyhmyyteni, mutta en tiennyt kuka on Jesse P. ennen kuin mainitsit ja oli pakko googlettaa. Onneksi olkoon vatsaa venyttävästä kunniataulupaikasta. :)

Täytyy kyllä myös nostaa hattua sille että miten ihmeessa pystyis myös pyöräilemään täydellä vatsalla? Ensin vettä täynnä, myöhemmin ruokaa täynnä. Täpötäyden vatsan sisällön sulatteluunhan menee muutenkin koko päivä, saatikka sitten että osa siitä on hölskyvää vettä.

Mun mielestä sekin ansaitsee kunniamaininnan!

Täytyy kyllä myöntää tyhmyyteni, mutta en tiennyt kuka on Jesse P. ennen kuin mainitsit ja oli pakko googlettaa.

No en nyt tiedä kumpi se tässä tyhmempi on: se, joka katsoo aikuisen miehen syövän valtavia määriä ruokaa, vai se joka ei tällaista ole eksynyt katsomaan.

Täytyy kyllä myös nostaa hattua sille että miten ihmeessa pystyis myös pyöräilemään täydellä vatsalla? Ensin vettä täynnä, myöhemmin ruokaa täynnä. Täpötäyden vatsan sisällön sulatteluunhan menee muutenkin koko päivä, saatikka sitten että osa siitä on hölskyvää vettä.

Vesi ei oo paha, kun se valuu äkkiä pois, mut ruoka kyllä tuntuu pikkasen. Oli haasteen jälkeen pakko ottaa vähän aikaa lukua ennen kun lähti liikkeelle – en oo ikinä ollu niin täynnä, ja se on aika paljon iteltä sanottu. Aika rauhallisesti kyllä otin sit loppupäivän :P

Vesi ei oo paha, kun se valuu äkkiä pois

Nää on näitä tällasia mielikuvia mitä ei saa päästä pois enää ikinä kun on kerran sen mielikuvitellut. Laaalalalalalallalalalalalalllaaaaaaa.... enkuunteleenkuunteleenlue! :D

Oli haasteen jälkeen pakko ottaa vähän aikaa lukua ennen kun lähti liikkeelle

Muistelinkin lukeneeni jotain ruokahaasteesta sun reissulogista.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 15 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 4 SBD worth and should receive 216 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Awesome! Thanks. :)

Hi @insaneworks!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.426 which ranks you at #7249 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 9 places in the last three days (old rank 7258).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 195 contributions, your post is ranked at #112.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01