Aalto vase designed by Alvar Aalto

in #finland6 years ago (edited)

Dear all,

Home is the best place in the world. 🏩 For me it means place to spend quality time with my family and place to quite down. It has somehow a golden, dazzling echo in it - it’s the place where you can unmask all your feelings and just be you. ✨

I spend significant amount of my time at home as I’m on maternity leave. I have always had an eye for beautiful design objects, but here and now the aesthetic/coziness at home is considerably emphasised‼️

In home decorating the timeless design elements are something I try to prefer. I’m a big fan of Finnish designers (yes, I have Lokki lamp designed by Yki Nummi), but my ultimate favourite one is still Alvar Aalto’s Aalto vase. It is timeless - it can be fill it with either candles, electric lights or flowers depended on the season. ☃️☀️🍂🌹

E22C116A-9526-48A9-8599-EA8E5C162C5E.jpeg

Alvar Aalto (1898-1976) is arguably one of the greatest names in modern architecture and Finnish design. Aalto believed that beautiful design should be a part of everyday life, hence he created sensible products capturing this idea.
Nowadays Aalto vase is a symbol of Finnish design and probably one of the most known glass objects in the world. 🇫🇮☝🏽

I guess many Finn has Aalto vase(s) at home. These beautiful creatures is possible to have in various different colours (as Finland turned 100 years last year, Iittala sold beautiful dark blueish Aalto vases as well). 💯

In our home, Aalto vase is generally placed next to TV. However, for the moment, I had to place it somewhere higher, as my little Aalto-expert started to show her interest in Aalto vases as well. 😜🙈

303D7D2C-B339-4E82-8BD1-379D54EACE4D.jpeg

Home sweet home,
Sulimur

P.S. The clock in the photos reminds me of Beauty and the beast cartoon/movie!😁👍🏻 That’s the also reason why I like it so much!😋

Sort:  

I don't understand why those are so expensive.

Finnish design costs. 💸

I also have Aalto vase, except in green. It's fab!

Ours is greenish as well.

kiemis in a vase
Kiemurainen in an Aalto vase. :)

Cold shivering! Snakes are one of my biggest fears. :O

And yet, I love to go to the forest :D

I’m also a bit afraid of snakes, but I don’t know where this emotional state comes from. 🤔

It is just ''programmed'' in humans that we should be aware with snakes. In some humans, this feeling is stronger. My feeling is a bit too strong :/

Do you fear them because some of them are poisonous, or is there perhaps some other reason? I'm just asking because our Kiemis for one, is not poisonous.

My fear is rational and irrational. It is rational because some snakes are poisonous but on the other hand, even ones that are not poisonous scare the shit out of me, that's irrational. It's a small phobia... For example, some spiders are poisonous and I wouldn't take the poisonous one in my hands but there would be no problem with a harmless spider. Snake on the other hand, is out of question regardless of poisonous or not.

I don't mind them since I see them so often. I tend to go over them accidentally when running outside. I just hope that they don't bite me while I'm squeezing them though

That’s sounded right from some kind of action movie “I just run over the snakes”. 🐍 😝👏🏽 (I guess seeing snakes a lot/ quite regularly reduces the fear.🤗)

Aaaand as we started to talk about the movies, have you seen “Snakes on the plane”? 🤣

I wouldn't go outside if I was scared of them. There are too many of them to bother.

And no I haven't. Is it any good?

Good that they are not very poisonous in Finland.

Wow, Kiemis! 😍✨ I wondered how big/long she is - this photo helped me in estimation. 👏🏽

I'd gather she's gained some length and thickness since then. She's a bit overweight right now, we are re-adjusting her feeding times again, from 12 days to 13 days, then full two weeks and so on to make sure she doesn't become obese. Once she stops gaining thickness we'll know we are at an equilibrium of sorts.

I thought obesity was only humans problem. 😝

Yea it's obviously a human problem, but we are working on it. I'm glad snakes' feeding times are somewhat easy to adjust.

Yep, I guess it would be easier to adjust the weight as you can regulate the meals and feeding times. 🤗 I guess Kiemis(🐍✨) eats at every meal the same? And same amount? 🧐

Good choice, green is beautiful (and timeless). 😋✨

And it's my favourite colour. The colour of nature :D Blue is also beautiful though!

You son is very funny. Obviously, he is into design by Aalto as well.

I have a daughter, but yes, she seems to be an Aalto-fan as well.😊🙌🏽

Sorry, made an educated guess based on the color of her clothes.

That was funny as Miro loves his pink shirts and socks.

We have one of those moose heads in white. 🙂

I think that our family is the only family in Finland who doesn't own one. Sorry :D

Well, this could be something you could write to Santa Claus on next December. 😝 I did...and he seems to read the wishing letters. 😁🙌🏽

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61035.98
ETH 2886.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67