Gilbert, Arizona's Biggest Fire

in #fires7 years ago (edited)

Snapseed.jpg

April 23, 2016 , a warm Saturday night was to change the Town of Gilbert's fire history. My husband and I had been shopping at the Sam's club on Gilbert Road and had just left about 6:15 pm, heading south on Gilbert Rd. Both of us usually carry a camera with us besides our cell phones in case we happen to see a beautiful sunset or something else of interest to photograph.

As we headed south, myself as passenger, I noticed a large, raging plume of dark black smoke rising in the near distance. What was in that direction and what possibly could be burning? My thoughts raced, was it a home, the Gilbert Police Department, a business or just a field? As we drove further south by about a mile, flames could be seen shooting into the air! Bright red, orange and white flames were shooting probably 100 or more feet up into the sky below the billowing, dark black and grey smoke. Trafficking was beginning to come to a halt as everyone began to rubber neck the scene. Determined to catch this spectacle on my camera, we pulled aside and snapped some photos and video, taking the time to figure which direction to head next.

Knowing the area, we went through a few neighborhoods instead of the main streets and got within a half mile or so of the fire scene. I got out and began to walk, I have some troubles with my knees, back, etc. but my adrenaline took care of that at the time. My poor husband was left to fend for himself, trying to find a place to park and get to the scene alone with his own physical deficiencies.

FullSizeRender.jpg

Fire fighters leaving the area to switch with fresh fire fighters, above.

Thankfully, the police were very kind to those of us who actually went to the fire scene. I think they too knew it was a historic curiosity for everyone. Police tape was up letting everyone know exactly where we could walk and take photos or videos. When I arrived, I saw buildings completely engulfed in flames! My heart sank, who may have been inside, how many casualties?

I asked around and found a few people who had already found out that the buildings in question were all empty apartments, framed, not yet ready for occupancy. Whew, what a relief that was hearing that there should be no people inside the roaring flames.

As I watched, videoed, and took photos the heat of the fire became unbearable in some of the areas we were allowed to stand. I can't imagine what the fire fighters were enduring with all their gear, right up in the midst of the fire?

I can't recall now how many alarms this fire was but I recall seeing trucks from Gilbert, Mesa, Tempe, Phoenix and maybe even Scottsdale at the fire that evening. Every news station had a reporter there with a news van, satellite dish and kept sending out live reports.

#TSUFamily

A person who wants to be a good photographer has a camera, a person who strives to be a great photographer takes a camera everywhere!

If you enjoy my work, please follow me, LoloMarie

IMG_5346.PNG

Snapseed.jpg

FullSizeRender.jpg

Snapseed.jpg

Sort:  

Wonderful post....amazing photos! And I'm so happy to see you here! To be seen by more friends use the tag 'tsufamily'. Upped and steemed

Thank you Melinda, I'm going to edit and add the #TSUFamily to all my posts!

You probably can't change the tags if anyone has already voted on your posts. You will find favorite tags that work for you.

I was able to change some of them, seems the ones older than a month you can't edit anything

I am Groot! :D

Well, hello to you groot, a very cute robot you are!

I am from Croatia, and this summer is incredibly hot. There are so many fires popping out everywhere. A lot of people lost their homes. Lot's of nature went down in flames also.It is sad to watch it happening and really not being able to do much about it. The worse part of it when they feel like they have it under control, but then the wind changes direction and start another fire somewhere else. It can get really chaotic.

Anways, thanks for sharing your story.

Have a great day. :)

Oh yes, wildfires! We get them here every summer as the winter rains make plants and weeds grow then they dry in the summer. It is desert here so not much rain, then everything burns.

Pretty much the same story happens here. Long hot summers with no rain, plus the human carelessness leads to many fires, unfortunately. But, we managed to keep them in check with not many people losing their homes.

Somehow, I missed this, but remember the fire. What a great write and such a horrific story!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69279.36
ETH 3870.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73