Being my authentic self (Reflection on Wesak Day)

in #firstblog6 years ago (edited)

Took me a while to start writing on this platform as I did not know where to begin or what to write about. However, I found this urge to start today as I realise the only way to curb my anxieties of having to create a 'perfect' post is to be at peace with being myself. Perhaps this is because today is Wesak day here in Malaysia and it feels like a time for reflection.

So, I thought I would start off this blog with talking about what I would like to create here. It may morph and change - something have come to accept as I near my 30's, but these are some ideas I thought would help give some 'identity' to this blog.

As I showered, and had my usual 'shower thoughts', I thought about the two words that describe me as a person -

~Creating Peace~

33814871_381878788965096_7981428118038511616_o.jpg

These two words were generated from a workshop I attended and recommended by a fellow steemit blogger @karinzdailygrind, called Authentic Lives. Really amazing workshop that @bensimblog also attended and wrote about.

Creating Peace means to create peace within myself, with others, and ultimately with the universe.

Now, I do not mean that I have a need to live a legacy but live a life of acceptance of what life and the universe has to offer. Put simply, I want to be okay with being me and okay with the uncertainties of life. So, I want to use this platform to just share my authentic thoughts and reflections and see where it goes.

Some areas that currently are a big part of my life that I may touch on:-

BECOMING A PROFESSIONAL COUNSELLOR

  • I am a trained professional tax consultant in the midst of shifting my career to become a counsellor and this 180 degree shift has really spurred my personal growth

LIFE WITH MY HUSBAND

  • we get a little silly sometimes and have, what I think are, interesting conversations

SWIMMING

  • sometimes I think of life lessons I learn whilst swimming

MY CATS

  • they make me reflect on human behaviour and I find teaching moments in their behaviour

LEARNING DRUMS

  • I always wanted to take on drums as a teenager but was discouraged. There are fun moments as my husband and I try to learn this new instrument together

HEALTH & FITNESS

  • My husband and I are always wanting to have more energy and focus a lot on how we can be healthier in a balanced way. Along the way, we have hiccups and successes that I feel I could share here too.

And, this concludes my first blog on this platform. I look forward to writing another one soon here. Thanks for reading, if you have spent some time here. See ya when I see ya.

20180604_135247.jpg

Peacefully,
Sue

Sort:  

Welcome on behalf of #cn-malaysia. Upvoted you as welcome gift. Should you write in Chinese or have a friend who blog in Chinese, feel free to make use of our tag to gain extra exposure from fellow Chinese Malaysian bloggers. Cheers.

Thanks, @davidke20. Ah, that is a great idea. I will keep that in mind!

Welcome to teammalaysia & steemit @sueannelim.

Thanks @joannewong! I am still feeling my way around. Much appreciate the warm welcome

Welcome, sueannelim! Best wishes for a very fun journey here in this loving and caring community :) Best regards!

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

Thanks @cheneats. Yes I am definitely feeling the love and care. I will check the groups out.

@sueannelim, I gave you an upvote on your first post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return!

Please also take a moment to read this post regarding bad behavior on Steemit.

Excellent post! Thank you for sharing with us your story. I'm happy to upvote and resteem your introduction post and welcome to steemit:) by @cheneats

Congratulations you have been upvoted and resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday's top 10 posts for the day! ...

We invite you to use our tag to connect with more of our members. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69746.86
ETH 3747.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80