Let Go of the Outcome

in #firstpost2 years ago

Greetings and welcome to my blog! I’m honored that you have taken the time to explore my thoughts along with me. My name is Ashley. I’ll be the first to admit I have NO FLIPPIN CLUE what I am doing with this blog OR with this life! That is both terrifying and exciting. Oh, the possibilities!!!

I’ve always heard, been told, etc. since my high school writing classes EONS ago, that in order to be a writer, you have to write. That’s it. Write what you know. I’ve always put an incredible amount of pressure upon myself to be perfect. Somewhere along the way I got the idea in my head that I’m never good enough, skilled enough, insightful enough, so if I don’t have PERFECTION to put out in the world, why bother? So, if you’re expecting to find next-level musings here, scholastic poetry, or the super commercialized “‘role models” of coaches/fitness gurus/poets/artists/models that are all over social media, let me tell ya right now--I’m gonna keep it true to myself. I am not concerned with marketability; I’m not going to be selling myself as some commodity. All I have to offer the world is myself: not perfect, but, hopefully on some level, relatable. This is a forum for me to put my thoughts out into the world. Work out where I need to go, work through my mental health struggles, process experiences, and write in order to explore what it means to be authentic to myself. That is what the world needs, isn’t it? More people who are sharing what lights them up?

What could I possibly have to write about that isn’t already out in the world? There are so many song lyrics, poems, stories, and anecdotes that I can relate to. A voice inside says, “Isn’t it arrogant to think YOU have something worthwhile to add?!” Why am I feeling so much pressure about what to post for my blog content? There are so many idea that I have, but clearly there is the perfectionistic part of me that is saying I MUST have the EXACT right words, written in the EXACT right way, in order to have worthwhile content to put out in the world. That notion is ridiculous! When it comes to the artistic process for myself, letting my work flow organically and create itself (so to speak) leads to a more satisfying outcome than struggling. To. Make. Every. Single. Detail. Perfect. I’m merely the vessel that art uses to make its presence in the world. Let go of the outcome - just create. That is probably a very good motto for my life as I get so caught up in creating the perfect bigger picture that I freeze and make very little progress. Let go of the outcome - just type. Let go of the outcome - just take that first step. Then the next. Then another. Before I know it, I’ll be further than I could imagine and closer to where I want to be!

So, thanks for joining me on my journey! More posts coming soon!

With all my love! ~Ashley

"Don’t ask what the world needs. Ask what makes you come alive, and go do it. Because what the world needs is people who have come alive.”
― Howard Thurman

Sort:  
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62414.94
ETH 3019.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58