Capturing the Fishing Moment

in #fishing6 years ago

As nice as a photograph of a fish is, I feel there is something special about capturing the moment on film. I have shared a few of my fishing videos here before, so I thought I would take you backstage to get a glimpse of how I capture my footage.

I use the Sony Action Cam for my fishing videos, which is a “GoPro” of sorts. The Sony Action Cam is a little cheaper than a GoPro, and has better stabilization when shooting. I have also found the image to be clearer and the colors to be more vibrant. On the other side though, there are many more accessory options with a GoPro and the editing of your captured videos is much easier and user friendly. With the Sony Action Cam, you can shoot wide angle, standard angle, slow motion, super slow motion, still shots, timelapse, etc. They also have features where you can edit how high of quality you want the video to be and also can track your route with a GPS overlay on top of the video you are producing (on a car or bike ride as an example). The Sony Action Cam (most versions) also has WiFi, so you control the cam through your phone and see what the camera is shooting at any given time, since it is so small that there is no display screen on the actual action cam.

8B116F55-8C4B-4EFB-9796-CD502856A5BA.jpeg

315943CC-2F78-4389-A31E-AC172528549C.jpeg

GoPro and other the action cams on the market often put a harness around a persons’ chest in which to shoot straight out for things like fishing. This has always looked odd to me, especially as you are looking right at a person’s hands and reel while they are bringing a fish. To get around this, I made a custom hat mount by drilling a hole in the bill of an old hat. With this contraption, you see what I am seeing, and the view is unobstructed by my hands or fishing reel.

B087F649-C28A-485E-B923-C16777A92371.jpeg

53382D93-A4EA-464B-A3B4-5D24E34BA0E9.jpeg

Of course, the Sony Action Cam can be used for many things besides fishing videos, and I have many accessories to help capture different things – such as suction cup mounts to attach to a car/boat, clamps that attach almost anywhere, bike mounts, tripods, underwater cases, extra batteries, etc. I have condensed all these accessories into a gun ammo bag, which is handy for organization and getting to/from different locations (plus it just looks cool).

4CD321A7-A804-40E6-83D2-C0DB981682FF.jpeg

I enjoy filming and making videos (not always the editing part though!) and plan to create more video content, so keep an eye on my blog for more future videos shot on the Sony Action Cam!

Thank you for checking this out!

Brian

Sort:  

That is such a great little camera and I love the set up on your cap. Yesterday I went out on the lake and recorded a lot of footage of the day fishing. I’m hoping to put together something to show on Dtube. The issue for me was that I only had my iPhone to record with and because I was alone I didn’t get some of the footage I would have liked to get. I should consider something like that.

On a positive note, it was a fantastic day of fishing with almost non stop action for the 6 hours I was out there. Caught a few 23-24 inch Pike some nice Bass and endless sunfish and bluegills.

Wow, sounds like a great day out.. I will keep an eye out for the footage!

wow,my dear friend @brian.rrr this is a very excellent camera you showing in your blog.its very amazing idea you capture alots of picture in your camera.next time i am looks alots of wonderfull photo in your friday fishing post.i love your every week fishing stroies..but you not picture any fish of your fishing day.thanks to sharing for your great post of fishing..very well done.take care yourself and best of luck of your great work.may god bless you and your family.my best wishes anytime with you.. my dear friend.. @brian.rrr

Great idea sir @brian.rrr. I love your fishing and pleased to know that now you are capturing the fishing moments.

Nice! I like the ingenuity there. I was worried they didn't have the waterproof case, but it seems you have that as well.

I remember when the first action cams came out. I got one from OR (outdoor Research) and took it skiing with me. I got so many strange looks from people. The footage wasn't great, but that's alright. It was fun because no one else was doing it.

How fun!!! This looks like A great way to share your adventures. I look forward to what content you will share. Be well and enjoy your new toy!

I have always wanted to buy a GoPro set but my budget never allows me.
But I will have look at this one as you say its a bit cheap than GoPro.
So how much does it cost?

The latest version can get up to $300+, but getting a used one that is working just fine can be as low as $100...

Literally great tools for sure and in my opinion now you will capture your fishing journey in an more effective and story telling way and for me the concept of cap is reflecting awesome.

And great to see that tool is fitting anywhere and in my opinion that showcase the usability of this product and i want to wish you good luck for your fishing journey.

Wishing you an great day and stay blessed. 🙂

A different design to the GoPro I do not have one of these but if it makes a lot of publicity to the GoPro it was even like the mode at the time all wanted a GoPro but I think I do not see it frequently

I have always liked the things sony have a classic design but nice I like how you can put it on your hat so it is much easier to handle it also I like that it has WiFi

I actually got a GoPro from the key master pro game

Hello friend, excellent equipment and very original what you made in the cap to have better mobility and not lose any time when fishing. is very good team, I will be on the lookout for the next videos, greetings @ brian.rrr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05