You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 70 lbs Halibut In The Fjords Of Norway

in #fishing7 years ago

My father was a fisherman in Nova Scotia, Canada. He often caught halibut and some were very large. I remember him unloading them from his boat and how big they were. Then, later in my life, I worked in a halibut hatchery where halibut were raised until they were able to travel and they were then sent to Norway to be raised out in aquaculture farms. Now, my husband is working for a fish buyer who often deals in 'but (as he calls them) and he brings home the cheeks when he can. They are delicious if you cut them into small pieces otherwise, they are a bit too stringy in texture for my taste. Great catch! You look like an interesting guy and I'm looking forward to following your adventures. Blessings <3

Sort:  

Halibut often get a bit stringy if they are very large! The best ones are often between 5-15 kg :)
It's interesting to learn how many people have some connection to Norway in one way or another! Thank you for sharing that story :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71227.76
ETH 3816.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43