Fishing With Just Line And A Hook

in #fishing6 years ago

My dad, @realtreebivvy, is super into fishing. He’s taken me fishing many times and I’ve always enjoyed it - just not enough to purposely go out fishing of my own accord. Last year though I was out walking along the Port River with my friends and they found a really long piece of fishing line that someone had left there. We ended up searching around some more, and within a few minutes found a hook! Someone had been feeding ducks earlier so there was bread all over the floor. We moulded some around the hook and in went our handline! It must’ve been a minute at most before we felt something biting. It took a while before we were able to catch a fish, but I’m pretty proud that we only needed bread, line and a hook!

It was a grunter, and when you held it to your ear you could hear it doing just that! (grunting).
The next day we came back, and had a handline each. This time we cycled to a nearby gas station and bought some squid to use as bait. We ended up catching so many this time! I also found a weight, which made things even more efficient. One of my friends ended up getting their line caught though, so I had to hang down from the side and try to untangle it which was terrifying!


More recently I’ve gone back to the Port River and tried hand line fishing again. We had way more success this time! I went with my cyclist friend.

IMG20180101125330.jpg
The river

IMG20180101110426.jpg
Us with a little fish

Sort:  

Wow! You sound like you're having some grand adventures and learning survival skills in the process. You'll be ready for the zombie apocalypse in no time! ;)
-Aimee

Nice fishing site :) have a nice fishing life :)

Wow svitlaangel : D your posting is so good !!

i am korean fisher man

Check your Class of SteemPower

Aargh what irresponsible idiot left the line and hook there?! Well least you put it to good use, hope you dealt with it appropriately afterwards ;D

You need more than a line and bait to fish? XD Did you manage to get one big enough to eat?

goatsig

Not the first time, we only got little grunters. The second time though when I had the little weight we caught a couple that were big enough, not sure what they were though as my dad did all the identifying and measuring! I definitely need to learn about the different ones you can eat.
It really is quite sad how many pieces of line and hooks you find lying around, I tend to take them all home with me because I guess I'm a bit of a hoarder... At least I put them to use though.

Blinky Bill thinks this post is EXTRAORDINARY!
To find out more about @blinkbill and what he is planning Follow him!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62513.70
ETH 2949.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60