Through adversity, steem on!

in #fitat405 years ago (edited)


Fit@40 #119

(28 Nov 2018)

Alternative Youtube link

Today's thought

Embrace the journey

One of the reasons I post these daily vlogs/ blogs is to celebrate the process.

Achieving anything worthwhile takes time and is a daily grind. It isn't pretty. It isn't glamourous. In an 'Insta-famous culture' we all too often see the 'end product'. We see the touched-up version in the good lighting...

I say fuck that!

The reality is far more compelling.

Showing the reality, demonstrates to real people that achieving goals is not easy but it is achievable.

Champions of grime

I was watching a programme where legendary Mexican boxing trainer Nancho Beristáin was talking about Muhammad Ali. Beristáin was talking about how he forged champions in the Romanza Gym, in Mexico City.

For all the Champions he had made, it was a grimy gym. Beristáin talked about how Ali loved to train in those kinds of gyms, and during his hayday how Ali trained in rat infested gyms.

It made me think that for all the showmanship in front of the cameras, it was behind the cameras, in grimy gyms or in dingy offices or in rundown basements... where the true magic happens. I wish more people would give show that.

I try to give a glimpse into my 'magical places' in this blog.

Face of adversity

Reality is also filled with adversity.

In almost every set I do, I feel some adversity. I don't have a good poker face when it comes to the weight room. In my gym face you can see that adversity looks ugly.

So, if you're grimacing and struggling in the gym, celebrate that. It means you're getting closer to your goal.

With every battle I have in the gym, I see the resistance of my 'existing self' capitulating. I see the 'new me' breaking through. That is the reason it is a struggle. It is designed that way.

If I'm comfortable, I'm not growing. Strive not be be comfortable but to be comfortable with being uncomfortable (cryptic but true).

Bored yet?

So if you ever find yourself watching my 1 minute dtubesnaps thinking...

'What is this? Why is he uploaded yet another speeded up video of himself on a cycle machine, this shit is boring!'

Good.

That's the purpose... to demonstrate the mental grind, to get up today and do the same thing you did yesterday, in the knowledge that you'll do the same thing tomorrow.

Progress is incremental, it's undulating however it is built on a bedrock of consistency.

Steem on!

Today's stats

DateWeightCalWorkoutProtein (g)Carbs (g)Fats (g)
WedNovember28218.92495PT session + 30' Cardio9328181

Today's workout

Shoulder Press

20kg x15
40kg x15
60kg x5
60kg x5

Superset:

DB Shoulder Press/ Dumbbell Side Raises

28kg x15/ 18kg x8
36kg x12/ 18kg x8
36kg x12/ 18kg x8
36kg x12/ 18kg x8

Biceps Curls

20kg x15
25kg x15
30kg x12
35kg x10
40kg x8

Alternating DB Biceps Curls

24kg x15
28kg x12
28kg x12
32kg x12

Biceps - '21' on Cable

15kg x21
15kg x21
15kg x21

Cycle machine

30min, 300cal


fitat40-large.png


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I get it. Your vlogs show the reality of transformation from past to present, but in real time. We get to experience the reality of the pace real world transformations. And the reality in a sort of in your face manner the daily grind of the gym. I think I also get the metaphor that life is like this. The glamorous endproducts we see on TV are the result of this type of grind.

Personally, I feel the burn of the grind here on Steemit. I have been grinding out dust threshold comments, posts, then larger and larger ones. I played with the bid bots tasted victory with some defeat with others. Blogged different niches and different languages. Looking for the one to push me higher. I can still remember getting enough SP to earn a slider bar and determine what percentage of my vote I would give out. I can say the grind is real, dust rewards are real and it’s the hardwork for the dust rewards that we perfirm as plankton that pushes us to get enough SP to be dolphins. This struggle makes us strong and eventually successful.
Thanks for the reminder that some big fish were once small and the journey long and hard.

Keep grinding... I feel you, I've been on that journey on Steemit and I'm still on that journey in life.

Kickass video man! Can tell you will get some real progress with this kind of motivation, on steem and out. It's always awesome to see people getting into fitness and exercise with a real drive and passion for improvement.

Cheers from Canada! Gonna follow you to keep my own motivation up!

Nice to see you posting again !
In a way it really motivate me to push myself a bit more. Like you say. A daily grind with ups and downs where not everything is positive unlike how everyone pretends on most social media. Great stuff, Keep it up !

Thanks - good to see you're still grinding and tracking your activities on your blog also.

Hi! In the end I looked at your film. Every day I passed by you video:-) I love gym!
This year was weak. A lot of stress and the end of the year was still ill. I intend to return with a diet and strongly with full strength. Yes 1 minute film but is very cool! Follow you! :-) Regards!

Posted using Partiko Android

I hope you're able to get back on track and push forward for the New Year.

Thanks for the follow.

Achieving anything worthwhile takes time and is a daily grind

just gonna slip this in ! congratulation you're 1% better today ! =)

another note : awesome tracking look heavy workout to me, what get track and measure get progress/improve

PS :
If you’re posting content on instagram, give share2steem a look. It’s a new dapp that easily autopost your social media posts to steemit. Let’s get 1% of insta users and show them the possibilities on steem blockchain !

you post also remind me @therock, he post his iron paradise workout photos regularly on insta, imagine if he use S2S dapp and share to steem, so much possibilities

Thanks - 1% better each day compounds into something really special.

The Rock on Steem... now that would be sweet!

yeah totally ! like the way you put it - it compounds !

That exercise keep us warm to live to be active whole day. Keep doing man,

Have a good day

This is truly an extraordinary explanation and development of body weight, I have gained so much knowledge that I can with my friends,

I am waiting for the next video, in Aceh so far there is a gym from where I live, friend, I really enjoy all the videos that you post ...

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63594.33
ETH 3039.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10