Being fit for purpose

in #fitat405 years ago (edited)


rsz_2018-12-03_161259.jpg


Fit@40 #124

(3 Dec 2018)

Alternative Youtube link

Today's thought

So today I was speaking with @colossus39 about fitness and he made a good point.

Lots of us think we are 'fit'. When in reality we are only fit in relation to the specific exercises we do.

Fitness for the most part is sport specific.

An Olympic swimmer may be super fit for swimmer but without any training would be a fish out of water on an Olympic wrestling mat.

What you can do through practice, that may help when doing a sport you're less familiar, is learn how to manage your energy. To understand your body enough to know when to how hard to push and how long you need to recover. But again this is difficult when you're working muscles you've never worked in that way before.

I think the same can be applied to things like intelligence. There are many people that are 'genius' in one aspect of their thinking yet moronic in other aspects. Intelligence too is application specific, in my view.

This is why I stay humble and approach new things with a beginners mindset. Yes, some skills are transferable however when it comes to the elite level, what I know is useful for the things I know. For everything else, I approach as a novice.

Today's stats

DateWeightCalWorkoutProtein (g)Carbs (g)Fats (g)
MonDecember3220.41,949Kickboxing session11616689

Today's workout

Kickboxing

60mins


fitat40-large.png


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Is that you?

Exercise is great.

Good HIIT session I see, working up a solid sweat, and pumping that blood to the muscles, brain, and cardiovascular system💪🏻👌🏼✊🏻

Posted using Partiko iOS

Nice gym you have there. I hope i can start doing some exercise too. im being lazy this days. Age is just a number. 😊😊😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Experience is necessary in everything we do.
Practice is also important .
I think myself fit but indeed I'm not perfect.

Posted using Partiko Android

You are absolutely right. I used to ride my bike at least 50 miles every day - but couldn't run worth beans. Are you on actifit? You would have no problem to earn points there...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99