Hugs For Health

in #fitness6 years ago

Ok, so, full disclosure… This might strike you as a little corny. But I don’t care! Read to the end - I don’t think you’ll regret it!

I’m talking about hugs today :)

I don’t know a whole lot of people who don’t like hugs. Ok, so maybe it depends who you’re hugging, but still - I think pretty much everyone feels better after a caring embrace.

A squeeze from this sweetie always makes my day better!

I know I talk a lot about how the emotional is tied tightly to the physical in terms of health and fitness, but it’s because I believe it so wholeheartedly.

Caring for the mind and the spirit is just as important when it comes to overall health as nutrition, exercise, and other forms of physical self-care, and tends to maximize or even magnify the effects of those efforts (or lack thereof).

So back to hugging - you might think I’m just going off on some warm-fuzzy-hippie tangent, and maybe I am, but there’s actually some research out there backing the positive health effects of hugging too, so check your judgment at the door!

Although I’m not sure if it’s all truly legitimate, there have been some studies that have shown links between the oxytocin release that comes from hugging and decreases in stress hormones (like cortisol, which can be troublesome for weight loss), blood pressure, and more. Also, feeling cared for and supported by others can actually make you feel more energized on a subconscious level and even ward off sickness…

Besides just making you feel good, I’d say these are some pretty sweet benefits!

And to be fair, I just plain LOVE hugging :) I know, I know - corny... But true! It’s one of those things in life that just always seems to help. And when two people hug, it benefits them BOTH. Connecting with others can have incredibly profound effects not just physiologically, but emotionally as well.

Maybe it’s the warm-fuzzy-hippie part of me, but I think that’s great :)

I don’t know about you guys, but I find it a lot easier to do all of the things I need and want to do if I feel secure and loved, and hugs are a great way to reinforce that feeling and bond with the people you care about. I’m a lot more likely to do things like eat nutritious foods and get my daily exercise in if I eliminate as much other stress in my life as possible, and I love that getting a good squeeze from someone I love naturally helps with that!

So give a hug, and get a hug. As soon as possible. Preferably now!

Soak in all of the good health benefits it can possibly provide. Let it be another reminder to take care of yourself, because you mean a lot to others and they want you around. Allow your stress to melt away and enjoy the mood-boosting, relaxing sensation of acceptance and love.

It’s quick, it’s free, and it could be just the boost you (and/or your co-hugger) didn’t even know you needed!

There’s literally nothing to lose, and so much to potentially gain. Let’s hug our way to health!

Who are you going to hug today? My list is starting to get long!

Please feel free to comment, upvote, or resteem if you’d like! :)
My Post (3).jpg

Sort:  

Hugs are a great tool in the fight against fatigue, stress and infectious diseases. It has already been proven that recovery after a disease is faster if there are frequent hugs, or physical contacts. In Western countries, given the benefits of hugging, used in the treatment of the practice of hugging. For example, this is part of the therapy for children with autism. In the process of such treatment, the child is in the hands of the mother, who for some time presses him to his chest. This alternative therapy helps to improve the condition of children. And, of course, hugs are useful for healthy people.
Close contact is necessary for everyone. Children need them in particular. With the help of touch, young children learn about the world around them. That is why, if a child or a teenager receives tactile sensations in insufficient quantity, including hugs, with the age of such a child, the appearance of emotional coldness and communication problems is not excluded. These children feel the emptiness and the fear of a close Association with the people strangers.
It is important to give each other hugs more often - this is the best gift: everyone fits in size, and no one minds if it is returned. And the hugs are completely free, do not require any additional material investments and are very useful for health.

Wow, how interesting! And I agree, hugs are the best gift :) thanks for sharing all of this!

Thanks for the post, annemariemay.

This bot runs through hundreds of posts per day selecting a small percentage of posts that have exceptional positivity.

Your post has been selected and upvoted because it has a high concentration of positive words that give feel-good vibes. Thank you for creating content that focuses on the bright side.

Your post has also been entered to be included in a daily roundup of positive posts.Please comment 'yes' or 'no' if you feel that my bot is correct in its judgement of this post. Your comments will be used to determine if this article belongs in the curated list. Over time, your feedback will be used to improve the judgement of this bot

Yes! Yes please :) Yay!!!! Thank you so much!

awww so cute! adorable!!! Amazing and beautiful photographs

Thank you so much, @ykdesign! :)

Careful, it looks like those arms could crush that child.

Ummmm... Thanks? 😂😂😂

I completely agree with you about how emotions are connected to our health. Feeling well is such a great energy, it pushes to accomplish things!
As for hugs, it is an awesome shoot of good vibes! It's the same when you force yourself to smile when being unhappy or angry, it makes you see the bright side of every situation..
Keep smiling and hugging :D

I totally agree!!! The smiling is a great point! Keep smiling and hugging too friend, and thanks for the support! :)

Hugging a person shows that we love them and have a lot of trust on him it’s a great post keep sharing good content @annemariemay

Totally :) thanks for saying that! And you're super welcome! :)

Not corny at all!! I love hugs! Hugs are awesome. Hugs and smiles can go a long way to brighten people's days. :)

Ahhh, yes!!! That's so true. I love when strangers smile at each other - it's so easy, and make the world so much warmer! :)

And who doesn't want the world a warmer place? haha :)

yes to the power of hugs !!

Yay! Glad you agree! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61361.03
ETH 2932.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67