Wedding Body Program?

in #fitness6 years ago

All this talk of wedding stuff has got me thinking... Every bride (and probably lots of grooms) want to get into shape for their wedding, right?

Same. Although I am typically fairly content with my level of fitness, it's an important day - and I'm only planning on ever having one wedding, so I want to be ready!

So, I've been poking around the ol' interwebs to see what other folks have in mind when they suggest programs for wedding prep (for women)...

What I've noticed is that they're on the short side in terms of total duration (6 weeks, 8 weeks, etc.) and have a very general approach, which I totally get - work everything a little bit for the most well-rounded result in a fairly short amount of time. Cool, yes, but not ideal unless you're already VERY close to a physique you're stoked about.

So what about those of us who want to start early? The average engagement seems to last from about 6-12 months, which is a lot more time than 6 weeks... Don't get me wrong, you can get a lot done in 6 weeks if you really work at it, but the truth of the matter is that for a lot of people, maybe even most, there's a lot more than 6 weeks' worth of work to be done in order to reach their true physique goals in time for their big day. Expectations are very rarely properly managed when it comes to cookie-cutter programs, especially if they're being sold to you by someone for money!

Obviously everyone has a different idea about the way they want to look and feel when an important event arises... While some might want chiseled abs, and some a bigger butt, and some for their shoulders to fill out their tuxedo, I think everyone wants to feel confident, comfortable, and proud in their own skin.

How do we ensure that we accomplish that? Start NOW. Just got engaged today? Great, get to the gym. Time's a wastin'!

I think that in general we are all so used to the idea of instant gratification in all things, when realistically sometimes changes take time. This couldn't be more true for fitness - not allowing yourself a reasonable amount of time to affect the desired changes will only result in either extremely unhealthy behaviors to get it done, or disappointment when it's not possible in the time allotted.

So, what I'm putting out there is to decide as far in advance as humanly possible which things you want to showcase in terms of your physique, and then choose a program that supports those specific goals. If you find a program that's short, plan on doing it multiple times in a row and increasing the intensity as you go to achieve maximum results. Can't find one that looks right for you? HIRE A COACH. I'm not saying to hire me necessarily (though you can!) but just to reach out to someone with experience who can design a program for you long-term that can get you to where you, personally, specifically want to go.

Also, and I can't stress this enough, make sure you're EATING FOR YOUR GOALS. You can't outrun, out lift, or out train a bad diet. Period.

This advice goes for men, too - not just the ladies! Everyone wants to rock the shit out of their respective swimsuit on their honeymoon for their new spouse, don't they? ;)

Finally, I was curious if you guys are interested at all in hearing about what I'm choosing to do in the gym and in the kitchen to get ready for my own wedding?

For me, I want to feel lean, balanced, and shapely when it's time to walk down that aisle. Feeling strong and athletic makes me feel the best in my own skin, so I'm planning on mixing heavy weights with functional movements to chisel up and lean down... Anyone want to join me??

What programs have you all tried? What made you (or makes you) feel your best?

Please feel free to comment, upvote, or resteem if you'd like! :)

My Post (3).jpg

Sort:  

we love you beautiful vibrant @annemariemay and your handsome partner in crime :D Happy Wedding. wishing you the best of the best of universe blessings

Awww thank you so so SO much, @banditqueen! You made my day!!! :D

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Gosh that is advanced. People i know are Lucky to find time to shop the Wedding costume with their best friend. :D i am Not married but one advice: if you started with wine dont go back to beer ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

Hahaha! That's great advice!! ;)

I upvoted your post.

Keep steeming for a better tomorrow.
@Acknowledgement - God Bless

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

Congratulations @annemariemay! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Presentamos el Ranking de SteemitBoard
Introducing SteemitBoard Ranking

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11