How to Spice Things Up in the Gym

in #fitness6 years ago

IMG_2343.JPG

An amazing thing happened in the gym today...

I enjoyed my workout more than I have in a really long time. Not to say that I've been hating my recent workouts. It's just that this one was different.

recently I've been doing a lot of bodyweight exercises and running and things like that. And when I have used any weight it's been lighter things like kettlebells and medicine ball.

But today I got a hold of a barbell and had a damn good time. And a lot of that was due to my focus.

Even though I was working with heavier weight the focus was more on my muscular endurance than anything. Nice high rep sets really focusing on my breath throughout the workout.

Which brings me to something that I feel is important that I don't see talked about too much, which is establishing your intention for the workout.

What are you going to the gym to accomplish? There has to be more to it than getting through your sets and reps for the workout. Mind muscle connection starts before the actual lift.

Your intention is something that determines everything from how I approach my warm-up, to how I order my lifts, to what I do for my cool down period.

But you should see the warm-up it actually gets pretty crazy at times

But other than it guiding your workout its just another way to spice things up in the gym. No one wants to go through the same old stale ass workout week after week. Things get too predictive. lifting in a different manner is a great way to challenge yourself, even if you're using the same tools you normally use.

Sqauting for 8 reps per set vs 20 reps per set challenges your breathing in a totally different way. It takes a lot of discipline, especially if your body isn't used to fueling itself for that type of activity for that long of a time.

But anyway let me know what you think, is this something that you'll be looking to try out?
Would you like to know more about how to change the intention for your workouts?
Let me know in the comments, I'm looking forward to hearing from you!!!

Sort:  

Motivation! I need to get back on a regularly routine work out asap. The challenge for me is finding the time in my crazy schedule for it.

I feel you! 24 hours really isn't enough sometimes for all the stuff were expected to do. And then we still have to find time to take care of ourselves.

Σ$$$ Tipped @talea.monet Σ3 SMART! Comment @smartbot help to claim. Currently the price of SmartCash in the market is $0.097 USD per SMART. Current value of the tip is $0.29 USD. To find out more about SmartCash, please visit https://smartcash.cc.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99